The Right Foundation

21 Jun

“For other foundation can no man lay than that is laid, which is Jesus Christ.”

1 Corinthians 3:11 

When it comes to building any one with even the slightest amount of knowledge in the subject would tell you that the foundation is the most important part.

I am so thankful that I have the right foundation on which to build! A personal relationship with Jesus Christ!

Even if we did everything right, made every measurement correctly, laid every block with care, it would be worthless without the proper foundation.

As I think back to when this foundation was laid in my life, my mind automatically recalls April 20,1997, the day I received Jesus Christ, the chief corner stone, as my Savior. Without this day, I would not be typing this post or even be concerned about building my life into what He desires it to be spiritually, but I believe it goes back even farther than that.

It goes back about 9 years prior, when a young man, who at 24 years old, realized the gravity of the new role he had just received. From day one, he made the decision to provide for his wife and newborn daughter not only physically but most importantly spiritually. He made a vow to his Heavenly Father. He promised to take the words written in Proverbs chapter 22 verse 6 seriously, to live them daily, consistently, diligently. Knowing that ultimately she would reach a point of understanding and need to make her own choice, but realizing he could do his part in showing her the joy that was found in serving Jesus, he chose to be the father that would make his Father proud.

  “Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.”

Proverbs 22:6

The word train means to narrow, to initiate, to discipline, to dedicate.

I know Jesus today because someone chose to train me, to dedicate their life to showing me how wonderful He is. Often it meant making the choice to be different from the world. To say “No.” when he knew it would break his daughter’s heart for the moment. To have rules and standards that weren’t exactly the norm.

Today, I have the right foundation because my Daddy determined nearly 23 years ago to be the kind of Father he knew the Bible called him to be.

I never had to wonder if he would be present at the dinner table or if  he would be sitting next to my Mom in church on Sunday morning, Sunday night, and Wednesday night. He was (and still is) a man of quiet strength, having a way of giving only enough advice to steer you to the right direction, to let you know what he would choose, but then allowing you to make the final decision. He is a very patient man considering he survives in a house full of girls! 🙂

At 6:30 every morning, you can find him on his knees beside his bed, seeking the Lord for wisdom, for the ability to build a life for his family that would be pleasing.

He has shown me what it means to be honest, hard-working, and wise when it comes to finances. He has shown me what it means to be spoiled rotten (in a good way!) by starting my car on cold winter mornings and always making sure I’m up and out of bed on time!

He has shown me more than words can convey, but most importantly he has given me the right foundation, teaching and training that showed me I was lost and needed something he could not give me. He loved me enough to tell me about Jesus, the Heavenly Father that could fill the void in my heart that nothing else could!

Thank you, Daddy, for your part in laying the foundation of Truth in my life that I can build on for a lifetime! I will always be your little girl!

 

4 Responses to “The Right Foundation”

  1. Lynda Love Clark June 21, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    Sarah – what a beautiful tribute to your Dad. You are blessed with wonderful parents, but they are equally blessed with a beautiful daughter inside and out!!!!!!!!!!!!! I must confess I could not read it without crying.

  2. Megan June 21, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    Sissy, your posts are always wonderful! But this afternoon as I sat here at work checking your blog, just like I do every day, I found myself crying! Thanks for being a wonderful big sister! I love you! And Daddy, if you’re reading this… thank you for making that decision so many years ago! And thank you for still being faithful to continue in making the best decisions for us each and every day!

  3. Orville & Joyce June 21, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    Thank you for such beautiful words. We are thankful that we got to know your Dad. He is a great Man.

    Orville & Joyce

  4. Ashley August 14, 2010 at 3:48 pm #

    I think it’s great God has blessed you with good Godly parents who raised you to know him. But I also think it’s a great thing that you realize it and appreciate it. I see a lot of kids our age who just don’t realize how blessed they are with good Godly parents.

Leave a Reply

