May this Summer be…

15 Jun

a Summer of building.

“A wise woman buildeth her house: but the foolish plucketh it down with her hands.”

 Proverbs 14:1

As the school year winds down, with only 2 days to go, I have been thinking a lot about the months ahead. It is my desire that it be a Summer of building.

I read this verse yesterday, as I went to Proverbs as I often do for the Proverb of the day, I paused to ponder it. As always, any verse that is directed to woman specifically caught my attention.  How I long to be a woman that pleases my Lord!

It has always been my heart’s desire to prepare accordingly for my future role as a wife and mother, and in recent years I’ve been challenged to use my single years wisely. I don’t want to wait until I’m in the midst of it before I attempt to learn what it means to “build my house.”

As I read this verse, I asked myself two questions:

In what ways can I “build my house?”

In what ways do I “pluck it down?”

Today, I have continued through the chapter in search of the answers to these questions! It has been a great (and very humbling!) study thus far!  I have so much work to do! It takes much diligence to “build” and a lot less effort to “pluck down.”

Many of you may remember my study on the Fruit of the Spirit last Summer. I will begin this Summer by sharing the answers I’ve found as I do an extended study on this verse!

I hope to begin tomorrow!

One Response to “May this Summer be…”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Words Won’t Come | LovingmyLord's Blog - June 18, 2011

    […] summer was a summer of building, and I long for His direction and help this summer as […]

Leave a Reply

