“Unto the praise of His glory…”

7 Jun

Ephesians 1:14

As I continue to study the book of Ephesians, I have come upon this phrase a number of times. So I decided to make a study of it on Saturday. I would’ve posted about it then, but our Internet has been down since Friday.

The cross-reference in my Bible took me to 1 Peter 2:19.

But ye are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a peculiar people; that ye should show forth the praises of Him who hath called you out of darkness into His marvelous light.”

These verses led me to pose this question, “Does my life praise Him?”

Sure, I praise Him in church with the songs that I sing, but does my life, my everyday living, praise Him? Can the world, does the world, look at me and see someone who has been called out of darkness? Someone who lives completely and totally for Christ?

Do I bring Him glory?

I should be and I pray that I am. He has “called us unto His eternal glory.” (1 Peter 5:10) When He saved us, He intended for us to live in a way that would!

I have been so challenged by this. I’ve been praying that the very fact that He saved me and loved me would spur me to live to “the praise of His glory” not to mention the million other bountiful blessings He pours out upon me each day.

 Then I read the words of the Lord, Himself, that brought even deeper conviction and challenge. Jesus said that He did “always those things that please(d)…” (John 8:29) His Father. I know that He was sinless and that He is the only One who will ever do the Father’s will “always” but I want this to be a prayer continually on my heart.

With John the Baptist, I want to live John chapter 3 and verse 30, daily surrendering my will for His, knowing that to truly live is to allow His “increase” and my “decrease.”

The word “decrease” comes from the word elattoo meaning to lessen in rank or influence, to make lower. 

Daily I must die. Daily I must intentionally surrender my position, giving Him His rightful place. His rank should be higher than mine at all times. His influence should be greater than my own. His desires and plans should always replace my own regardless of the sacrifice.

The word “increase” from the Greek word auxano means to grow, enlarge, wax. As my control of life, plans, and everything in between lessens His should grow, and as it does the more I am able to live to “the praise of His glory.”

Leave a Reply

