From Mundane to Marvelous…

2 Jun

That’s where I’ve been praying that God would take me.

You see, I’ve been stuck in a rut so to speak. Spending my days focused on how mundane life can be which can make for one very long week. The discouraged in  heart has a lot more time to think upon all that’s wrong, to worry about how all of the wrong will get fixed, to wish it was somewhere else. I confess, I’ve not been very joyful in my journey lately!

With a later end to the school year than normal, I find myself lacking the ambition and energy that usually comes so naturally for me when in the classroom. With the busyness of it all (remember my week with no posts last week!), I have been fixed on all the negative, but after a delightful weekend with an extra day off, I have been hearing my Savior a little more clearly.

“Child, I want to take you where the mundane is made marvelous! Will you let me show you how abundantly blessed you are?”

Yes, Lord. I’m tired of being discouraged! I want You to renew the joy to my journey!

So in the first chapter of the book of Ephesians, I found a few things that quickly took my outlook of life from mundane to marvelous!

 Within the first nine verses, He sweetly reminded me that I have been

“blessed…with all spiritual blessings in heavenly places in Christ.” (v.1)

I have been given a most blessed position I did nothing to merit. I have been “adopt(ed)…by Jesus Christ!” (v.5) My position is now an accepted one, not in myself, but “in the Beloved!” (v.6)

He has given my life a new purpose, that I should live “to the praise of the glory of His grace…” (v.6) What a blessed privilege! It’s not that I have to live for Him but that I get to live for Him.

Another blessing is that I don’t have to attempt living for Him on my own because He has also graciously given His power. I can live for Him because He has given “redemption through His blood, forgiveness of sins…” (v.7)

And behind my living for Him is a fresh passion. “Having made known unto us the mystery of His will, according to His good pleasure which He hath purposed in Himself.” (v.9) The fact that He has made His will known to me should drive me and fuel a growing desire to live in the center of It. There is nothing mundane and everything marvelous about being where He wants you to be!

With the beginning of June, I am purposing to focus of the marvelous things He has done for me! To focus on the little things like the warmth of summer afternoons, more hours of daylight to enjoy, and the beautiful flowers that bloom and on the big things like the spiritual blessings He pours out upon me!

I’m so grateful for Scripture and the strengthening that the Holy Spirit brings to a discouraged heart!

Leave a Reply

