Freedom

31 May

With today being Memorial Day, I’ve been thinking a lot about freedom. So often I go days even weeks without pausing to ponder how blessed a life I live here in America, the land of the free.

As I worshiped yesterday, I thought of the freedom we have here to do just that. Freedom to gather with other believers without the fear of punishment or imprisonment for doing so. Freedom to sing praises openly. Freedom to follow Christ.

While I flipped through the pages of my beloved Bible, I thought of the freedom we enjoy in simply being able to have this blessed old Book in our possession. Unlike Christians in other countries who are following Christ without ever holding the Scripture in their hands, I have the privilege of having God’s Word in my everyday life. In many Christian homes in America, we have a Bible on the coffee table in public view. We carry our own copy of the Word to and from church without fear of being persecuted. I am thankful for the freedom of owning a  Bible.

Looking at the stack of tracts in my purse, I thought of the freedom to speak of Jesus to others. In America, though we have been ridiculed in recent years for speaking His name, we still have the freedom to do so. We can lay a Gospel tract on the table when we finish a meal at a restaurant. We can give the plan of salvation to the clerk behind the counter at the grocery store. In America, we have the freedom to witness of what God has done for us! Oh that I would use the freedom more faithfully while it is mine!

As we bowed our heads to bless the meal in front of us, I thought of the freedom of prayer. Freedom to thank God for His provision in public. In a crowded restaurant, we can pause for a conversation with our Heavenly Father despite the noise surrounding us.

I am grateful for the many freedoms with enjoy as Americans because of men and women willing to forgo their freedom to live lives and for some even die deaths for the cause of life and liberty.

Then as I thought upon all of the freedoms we have been given as Americans, I began to think of the freedoms we possess as Christians. Freedoms that are ours because of One who laid down His life, sacrificed His freedom to buy it for those He loved so much.

I read the book of Romans and find a focus on the believer’s freedom from sin. Because He took on flesh, took on sin, my sin, I have freedom from it today.

  “Being then made free from sin, ye became the servants of righteousness…But now being made free from sin, and become servants to God, ye have your fruit unto holiness, and the end everlasting life.”

Romans 6:18,22

Again in Romans then in Timothy, and in John, I read of my freedom from fear.

 “For ye have not received the spirit of bondage again to fear; but ye have received the Spirit of adoption, whereby we cry, Abba, Father.”

 Romans 8:15 

  “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”

 2 Timothy 1:7

 I don’t have to worry about the security of my salvation because these are the words of my Savior, Himself,  “And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand.” John 10:28  He promised never to leave me, to be there regardless of what comes.

He promised that I need not worry about the future. I should not live today plagued by the “What if’s?” of tomorrow. I have been blessed with a freedom from fear if I’ll only take my every anxiety to Him in prayer.

  “Take therefore no thought for the morrow: for the morrow shall take thought for the things of itself. Sufficient unto the day is the evil thereof.”

Matthew 6:34

As His child, I have freedom from a life lived in self according to my plans. Freedom to enjoy being in His will, living the life He died to purchase for me. Freedom to know Him, personally, daily.

  “Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ, And be found in him, not having mine own righteousness, which is of the law, but that which is through the faith of Christ, the righteousness which is of God by faith: That I may know him, and the power of his resurrection, and the fellowship of his sufferings, being made conformable unto his death;”

Philippians 3:8-10 

What a blessed people we are! Not only to enjoy the liberties of life in America, but to enjoy eternal liberty through Jesus Christ! As we gather around the picnic table this afternoon with family and friends, may we remember those who have fought for our freedom and the One who died to give us the Ultimate freedom of deliverance from the fallen state we once found ourselves bound in.

Thank you, Lord, for the freedoms You’ve so graciously given! Please don’t let me take any of them for granted! I love You! 

One Response to “Freedom”

  1. Uncle Joe May 31, 2010 at 5:42 pm #

    We, as God’s cnildren, truly are a blessed people. My prayer also is that I will never take any of the blessings and freedoms that I have through Christ for granted. Thank you for this great reminder today.
    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

