My Gracious Redeemer

29 May

Due to an extremely busy week with very little time at home (before midnight or close to it!), I haven’t posted since Sunday! So I wanted to re-post this study of Ruth that I did several months ago. I hope it’s a blessing to you! I am so sorry for my inconsistency this week! Thank you to all of you who still read daily! It is a great blessing to me! I WILL post before the weekend’s over!

I began my study in the tiny book of Ruth and my heart was so blessed by what He revealed through a number of verses in chapter two. Wow! What a picture of my Lord’s love for me is found here!

gatheringgrainJust as Boaz loved Ruth and extended her grace and favor, my Jesus loves me “though I be not like unto one of (His) handmaidens.” (Ruth 2:13) Sinful, selfish, and so far from where I should be, still my Redeemer loves me! I am a Gentile, a foreigner, a stranger! I don’t deserve or warrant access into His field yet He extends an open invitation to me.

And although I owe Him a lifetime of service that would never be enough for all He’s done for me, He insists on SERVING ME!!!! Just as Boaz served Ruth, giving her a place at his table, my Lord delights in “reach(ing me) some parched corn….” that I may eat and be “satisfied!” (Ruth 2:14) Not only did He save me and give me the Bread of Life that I might have life eternal, but He sustains me beyond salvation. Daily calling me at mealtime to “come…hither” and feast upon Him spiritually.

The beginning of chapter 2 tells us that Ruth’s “hap was to light on a part of the field belonging unto Boaz…” (verse 3) This phrase means she happened upon it, but we know that as God’s children nothing just happens. Our Sovereign and Wonderful Savior works it all for our good and His glory. Just as He has ‘happened’ to work His amazing works in my life over the last 4 years in particular, the Lord blessed Ruth’s following of Naomi and desire to work to provide for their needs with the presence of a kinsman redeemer named Boaz. When we seek Him, He blesses! 🙂 Ruth made the choice to make Naomi’s God her God and the Lord took notice! By His great love and mercy, my Lord called me to a seeking of Himself and a set-apart life 4 years ago and today I am enjoying the innumerable blessings of laboring in His field!

And just as Ruth found herself upon her face before the gracious and loving Boaz, I found myself before my Redeemer this afternoon. I asked my Loving Lord the same question Ruth asked Boaz,

“Why have I found grace in thine eyes, that thou shouldest take knowledge of me, seeing that I am a stranger?” 

Ruth 2:10

His love and provision for me doesn’t make sense. I don’t and never will understand It, but I am in awe of It tonight. I only know that the love of my Redeemer for me as unloveable as I am is more REAL than anything words could ever describe. He  loves me and that thrills my soul! He shouldn’t even take knowledge of me much less allow me to be a part of His family, but He does! I think of David as He posed a similar question in Psalm 8:4: “What is man, that thou art mindful of him? and the son of man, that thou visitest him?”  The Creator of the Universe calls me to His Side to remind me that He loves me and that I am redeemed, purchased of God to be faithfully serving Him as He faithfully serves me!

He is my Redeemer, He bought me back from the slavery of sin and the sentence of shame that I was living under! He stood before me as I attempted to gather morsels of grain from the field ever coming up hungry and lovingly offered me “handfuls of purpose” (Ruth 2:16) for the crumbs I was settling for!

I love my Lord tonight because He first loved me! I praise Him for being my God and for being my loving Redeemer! 🙂

Leave a Reply

