For My Good…

19 May

Over the last few years, He’s been teaching me so much and many of those lessons have been learned the hard way. If you asked me which lesson would be the most important or most prominent, it would probably be the fact that He is ALWAYS, 100% of the time, working all for my good and His glory, regardless of how tragic it may seem in the midst of the trial.

Over and over again, He has proved this true. Through painful valleys, He has shown me that the pain has purpose. As He picked up the pieces of my broken heart, He taught me that His healing brings a comfort I never would’ve known had my heart been spared from the devastation of the valley.

Tonight, I read a verse for the first time that I can add to my collection of verses for the tough times of life. I have gone to the famous Romans 8:28 numerous times and found strength from Job 23:10 in the midst of trial, but I’m excited about this new discovery! It’s always great to have another verse to run to when my heart is heavy and I’m not thinking of all of the seasons He’s used in the past for my good.

“And I will give them one heart, and one way, that they may fear me for ever, for the good of them, and of their children after them.”

Jeremiah 32:39

Another reminder of His desire to work all things, even down to the minute details, for the good of them that love Him! This verse even promises good to the generation to come!

It’s amazing to me, the times He’s had to close doors while opening others, unbeknownst to me,  to get me to where I am today! I am so thankful He was loving enough to take my plans in order to give me His best! He didn’t let me settle and how grateful I am for that! He has taught me that indeed, “His understanding is infinite.” Psalm 147:5

I’ve never been more sure that He knows what’s best for me even when His best seems anything but good at first glance!

Without the valleys, I wouldn’t have much of a testimony, I wouldn’t know Him as I do, I wouldn’t be here, enjoying the blessing of being in His will! I’ve seen first hand how good He truly is!

On the other side of the trials, I know that they don’t last forever and that He only gives what I can handle and nothing more. He’s my Father and doesn’t delight in seeing His child struggle. There is a perfect purpose behind what He has allowed in the past and what He”ll allow in the future. He only allows it “if need be” (1 Peter 1:6) and how often I need what I learn in the trial!

I read this today and was so blessed by the truth in it:

“A bar of iron worth $2.50, when wrought into horseshoes is worth $5. If made into needles it is worth $175. If into penknife blades it is worth $1,625. If made into springs for watches it is worth $125,000. What a ‘trial by fire’ that bar must undergo to be worth this! But the more it is manipulated, and the more it is hammered and passed through the heat, beaten, pounded, and polished, the greater its value.”

Christian, are you wondering about the trials through which you are passing? With impatient heart are you saying, “How long, O Lord?” The heat of the flame and the blows of the hammer are necessary if you are to be more than an unpolished, rough bar of iron. God’s all-wise plan, though it calls for the fire, produces the valuable watch spring of maturity. His very best for your life has behind it His perfect timing.”

F.B. Meyer

I”ll take the pounding and the purging, if it means being more profitable in His service. I love my Lord and praise Him for loving me enough to do all for my good!

One Response to “For My Good…”

  1. Lynda Love Clark May 20, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    Again thanks Sarah – this is a lesson of experience that my Jarrett could feel and associate as can all of us who were there to witness GOD’s hand at work in creating his miracle for Jarrett’s recovery as he continues to work faithfully through the long healing process. GOD is good!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

