The Words of My Mouth…

15 May

I have been studying this subject lately and seeking God that He might enable me to apply these verses to my life. It’s one thing to read them and even memorize them, but these verses as with any Scripture are most profitable when acted upon.

 “Let the words of my mouth, and the meditation of my heart, be acceptable in thy sight, O LORD, my strength, and my redeemer.”

Psalm 19:14 

 “A soft answer turneth away wrath: but grievous words stir up anger. The tongue of the wise useth knowledge aright: but the mouth of fools poureth out foolishness…  A wholesome tongue is a tree of life: but perverseness therein is a breach in the spirit.”

Proverbs 15:1-2, 4 

  “She openeth her mouth with wisdom; and in her tongue is the law of kindness.”

Proverbs 31:26

Oh, to have acceptable words! Wholesome words! Wise words! Words that glorify God and bless others! I am so guilty of those grievous words mentioned in Proverbs 15:1, not so much in what I say, but in the attitude in which I say it.

I have always longed to mirror the Proverbs 31 woman, but especially in this area! To open my mouth with wisdom and to always exhibit the kindness of Christ in my speech! I have A LOT of work to do! If David, a man after God’s own heart, had such trouble in this area, surely we will too! However, this is no excuse not to seek to change!

We can seem to be the best Christian around by appearance, but without the love of God in our talk our walk will mean little. After all, “out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaketh.” (Matthew 12:34)

As the Apostle Paul said in 1 Corinthians 13:1,  “Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal.” Anything I attempt to do for the Lord is of naught if my words don’t reflect a love for Him.

It’s often easy to speak sweetly to the sinner, but the real test comes when we interact with our brothers and sisters in Christ, particularly those we happened to be related to by birth, or those most dear to us. It takes work, the working of the Holy Spirit, if we are to have speech that is edifying to those we love the most. We’re told that our speech is a way by which we can “minister grace.” (Eph.4:29) That’s sounds like a pretty important task! One we need to be diligent in for it is one that can be difficult as we live in these fleshly bodies!

Using words that please the Lord (and again this includes the attitude and tone in which we are speaking!) is a wonderful way to live out Romans 12:10, ” Be kindly affectioned one to another with brotherly love; in honour preferring one another.”

I’m grateful that the Lord’s help is available to assist me in this area as it is in so many others for without His aid I am hopeless! I am thankful for His forgiveness when my words aren’t what they should be and for the love of those I love the most that love me through the days when my words aren’t the wise, kind, soft, words I long to speak.

Oh, Lord, I cry with the Psalmist tonight, may my words be acceptable in Thy sight! I love You and long for that to be reflected in my speech!

Leave a Reply

