A Place and A Name

11 May

 ” Neither let the son of the stranger, that hath joined himself to the LORD, speak, saying, The LORD hath utterly separated me from his people: neither let the eunuch say, Behold, I am a dry tree. For thus saith the LORD unto the eunuchs that keep my sabbaths, and choose the things that please me, and take hold of my covenant; Even unto them will I give in mine house and within my walls a place and a name better than of sons and of daughters: I will give them an everlasting name, that shall not be cut off.”

Isaiah 56:3-5

As I was studying a completely different topic today, I came across these verses! I love it when the Lord reveals Himself like this, directing my study in His way!

As not only a sinner, but a Gentile by birth, I am technically “the son of the stranger.” That is a pretty depressing thought until I continue reading! Jesus didn’t want me to or allow me to stay that way!

To one once separated, He has given a place and a name!

 He has called me His child, His beloved. I am thankful for my new name!

 He has prepared for me an Eternal Home in Heaven (John 14:1-3) and given me the opportunity to sit in heavenly places in the here and now (Eph. 2:6)! What a wonderful place to sit!

In Ephesians, a few more verses, paint a clear picture of how desperate we were before His precious gift of salvation.

Wherefore, remember, that ye being in time past Gentiles in the flesh,

who are called Uncircumcision by that which is called the Circumcision in the flesh made by hands,

That at that time ye were without Christ,

being aliens from the commonwealth of Israel,

and strangers from the covenants of promise,

having no hope,

and without God in the world.” (2:11-12)

Gentiles, uncircumcised, without Christ, aliens, strangers, without hope, without God.

Words can’t even describe how terrible this condition was but the list mentioned above does a pretty good job of explaining it. I was doomed and destitute, separated from anything good for all Eternity, until He came.

Came to change my todays and give hope and promise to my tomorrows.

” But NOW in Christ Jesus ye who sometimes were far off are made nigh by the blood of Christ.

For He is our peace, and hath made both one, and hath broken down the middle wall of partition between us…

For through Him we both have access by one Spirit unto the Father.

Now therefore ye are no more strangers and foreigners, but fellow citizens with the saints, and of the household of God..” (2:13-14,18-19)

Do you see how different our present standing is compared to our past? What a blessed difference there is!

Nearness, peace, citizenship, continual access to a God I stood separated from.

I can call Him Father, Abba, Daddy (Romans 8:15)! Like a Father pities His children, He cares for me.

When I ask for bread, He never offers a stone, (Luke 11:11) but rather gives me His very best! Carefully choosing the biggest piece and lovingly offering it to me, He gives me what I am so undeserving of. Though I shouldn’t even be given the crumbs that fall, He offers me all I need to be satisfied.

He has given me so much, a place in His family, at His table and a name in the Lamb’s Book of Life!

I love my Lord!

 

One Response to “A Place and A Name”

  1. Uncle Joe May 12, 2010 at 4:47 am #

    What a great thought to start the day with. Thank you.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

