A Godly Mother

8 May

Rising early, before the sun, she begins the day.

But not before we see her kneeling down to pray.

In the quiet stillness, she whispers her requests,

Knowing she will need His help, if she’s to do her best.

 

Lord,

today will be filled with laundry, meals, and so many dirty dishes,

There’s so much to do, I could so easily forget to give kind words and kisses.

But Father, help me not miss a second of this day,

Knowing that all too soon it will quickly slip away.

I realize my calling’s high, I have a husband to love, children to raise,

And I want to do it all in a way that gives You praise.

For my little ones are only little once, this is my only chance to train,

May they see through me that to live for Christ is truly gain.

 

 The day is filled with Cheerios, peanut butter and jelly and apple juice,

But she seeks to seize every moment for the teaching of the Truth.

Between the dusting and the mopping, the cleaning and the chores,

For the salvation of her children, she silently implores.

 

Her place of service receives little recognition but still we see her serving on,

Even when it means rocking fussy babies from dusk until the dawn.

She keeps her home so faithfully and seeks to be all her husband needs,

Setting a Christ-like example through her words and through her deeds.

 

And though she is not serving on the foreign mission field,

She’s planting seeds of faith and praying for a yield.

She’s never received an award or a trophy of achievement from another,

But for her family and future generations she seeks to be a godly mother!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I am so very blessed to have a godly mother who has devoted (and continues to devote!) her life to being just that, a mother.

In a culture, that seems to look down at motherhood or at least at the few women who will forsake careers and personal goals to be keepers at home, this verse in Proverbs is very applicable today.

“Who can find a virtuous woman? for her price is far above rubies.”

 Proverbs 31:10

I’m not saying that women who must work because of life circumstances or other things are any less godly, but I truly believe it is a wonderful thing when women are able to spend their lives mothering their children full-time.

 For as long as I can remember, I have desired to be this kind of mother someday! I pray everyday that the Lord will prepare me to be a godly wife to my husband and a godly mother to our children. I pray He will bless me with the privilege of being a stay-at-home mom.

I worked in daycare for many years and witnessed so many little ones who would spend eleven hours a day, from 6:30 in the morning to 5:30 in the evening, in the care of someone other than their mothers. It would break my heart to know that not only were these two, three and four-year olds missing out on a bond with their mothers, but their mothers’ were missing out of watching their babies grow and change throughout the day.

But much worse than watching mothers who are missing out on the daily things, is seeing mothers who neglect to teach their children to love God and live for Him. And I’m not talking about women who are lost, but rather, women who claim to love Him, themselves. We are so concerned with making a life for our kids, that we totally miss the meaning of Life itself, Jesus Christ. He is merely Someone we pray to at mealtimes and sing about on Sunday mornings, not Someone who consumes our every thought and action to the point of living for Him on a daily basis. After all baseball practice is on Wednesday nights and we’re out late shopping on Saturday so we could never possibly make it to Sunday School, right?

This is a subject so very dear to my heart. I am so deeply convinced that we’re losing those in my generation and in the generation my kids will one day grow up in because we’ve failed to teach them, failed to show them who Jesus truly  is. They need to know that He is more than what we’ve shown them He is in our haphazard living of the Christian life.

I want my kids to know that God’s Word is more than just black words on white paper. That it is Life and gives life. I want them to know that Jesus is more than just their Savior (but oh how wondrous that He is that, indeed!) but their very Best Friend who longs to consume every facet of their existence. That big houses, expensive cars, name brand clothes and great vacations will be pleasure for a moment, but when their 85 and gray-headed none of those things will matter. I want them to have a godly Mama who loves their Daddy as he serves God and leads their home. I want to be there, being a mother to them.

I guess it may seem silly that I spend time thinking about these things now, but it’s just always been a part of who I am. I believe this is my life’s calling. I do not claim to know it all or even to know anything of raising children, and I’m sure I’ll be convinced of how little I truly do know when my time comes, but I pray He will teach me and train me that I may do the same for my future children.

I’m convinced that the efforts of my godly Mama have had a huge impact on who I am today. I am thankful that I could come home each day after school, knowing that Mom would be there. Thankful that she packed my lunch and helped me with projects until midnight. Thankful she was (and is!) there when I had a bad day. Thankful that she prayed (and still prays!) for me, for my salvation and for the Lord to work in my life.

I am thankful to have been given a godly mother and pray that one day I can be the same!

“Her children arise up and call her blessed…”

Proverbs 31:28

 

One Response to “A Godly Mother”

  1. Tara(mom) May 10, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    I LOVE YOU SARA !
    I have been blessed to have you as a daughter!!!!

Leave a Reply

