On The Other Side

26 Apr

of the fence.                                                                                                                                                                                                                 They say the grass is greener there.

That the sun shines a little brighter.

That the beds are always made and the bills are always paid.

 That all is well and wonderful.

The promise of better days beckons bringing a desire for things I don’t have that begins to overwhelm me.

Thoughts like,

 “If only I had such and such.”

“Things would be better if…”

“It’s not fair that she has that or gets that.”

Why do they get to be there and I don’t.”

Since Eve and the forbidden fruit, envy and discontent have been a struggle for all humanity.

As humans, we are constantly battling with the want to be where we’re not or have what we don’t have.

Many of my post have been centered around contentment lately for that is where I’ve been centering most of my study and most of my prayers. I write much on it for it is a personal struggle of mine.

I read this little story today that spoke volumes as to the dangers of discontent.

It was spring, but it was summer I wanted. I wanted the warm days and the great outdoors. It was summer, but it was fall I wanted–the colorful leaves and the cool, dry air. It was fall, but it was winter I wanted–the beautiful snow, and the joy of the holiday season. It was winter, but it was spring I wanted–the warmth and blossoming of nature. I was a child, but it was adulthood I wanted–the freedom and respect. I was twenty, but it was thirty I wanted–to be more mature and sophisticated. I was middle-aged, but it was twenty I wanted–the youth and the free spirit. I was retired, but it was middle-aged I wanted–the presence of mind without limitations. Then my life was over, and I never got what I wanted.

We spend so much time wanting tomorrow that we miss living today.

The things we desire may not even be bad things, sinful things, but dwelling upon those desires and neglecting to find contentment in Christ then takes it to a whole different level.

After spending the morning peeking through the slats, gazing at what seems to be so much better, I pause and look around at life on my side of the fence.

———–

No, I may not have that and I may not be there, but things are quite wonderful here!

When I truly stop and take it in, I am overwhelmed by something different, not the thoughts of why I’m not there or why I don’t have that, but with joy and gratefulness for all I do have and for where I am!

  “Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have:..”

We tend to hear just this part of the verse, but the promise in the second half of it truly brings contentment to our ever-wanting hearts.

…for He hath said , I will NEVER leave thee, nor forsake thee.”

Hebrews 13:5

 I have my Jesus, and He loves me! I have the blessings he loads my life with and they are beyond any words description!

Come to think of it, things on this side of the fence are much better than I thought they were.

3 Responses to “On The Other Side”

  1. Lynda Love Clark April 27, 2010 at 12:07 pm #

    Very lovely Sarah. I do enjoy reading the blog. Often times I feel as if its meant for me and something GOD needed me to hear.
    thank you

  2. Orville & Joyce April 29, 2010 at 11:25 am #

    So true Hope all is well with you and your family. Next time you all are in Tenn. maybe you can swing by Ky. Keep up the good work.

    Orville & Joyce

  3. Craig Ford April 29, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    I’ve heard that, “it’s better to want what you have than have what you want”.

Leave a Reply

