Redeemed

20 Apr

How I love to proclaim it! Redeemed by the Blood of the Lamb!

I’ve been singing this hymn all day.

Thirteen years ago tonight, I found out what it was like to be redeemed!

 April 20,1997 is a day I will never forget. As a nine-year old girl, I know I didn’t grasp the gravity of my decision entirely or truly understand the amazing thing He did for me that night, but I think it will take a lifetime to do so. 

I’ve been thinking a lot today about how different my life would have been had I not met Jesus that day. These verses in Psalm 103 have been the theme of the day:

  “Bless the Lord , O my soul, and forget not all his benefits…Who redeemeth thy life from destruction;”

verses 2,4

I truly believe that’s what He did for me!  He redeemed my life from the destruction it was headed for!

The word redeem literally means to be the next of kin (and as such to buy back a relative’s property,) purchase, ransom.

He is my next of kin! He bought me back from the bondage of Satan’s grasp! He purchased me! He gave His life a ransom for mine!

I am redeemed and SO HAPPY in Jesus tonight! Being His child has come with benefits so wonderful I never could’ve imagined. It’s been quite a journey thus far and I’m excited about what’s to come! Being His child not only ensures me a secure Eternity, but a most blessed life in the here and now!

Lord, thank You for saving me! Thank You for being Faithful, Sufficient, Forgiving, Enough. Thank You, Lord, for loving me! You have walked by my side. You have held my hand. You have dried my tears. You have redeemed my life from certain destruction and for that I am eternally grateful!

One Response to “Redeemed”

  1. Uncle Joe April 21, 2010 at 4:27 am #

    I know you will see this a day too late, but Happy Birthday in Jesus. You are right about taking a lifetime to fully grasp all that happened the day we got saved. June 15th will be 30 years since I accepted the Lord and I believe I have just started to scratch the surface of understanding all that happened to me that night. Thank you for this post of praise.

    LOVE You
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

