On Contentment

12 Apr

I’m learning (and it’s a very slooooooow process for I am a very slooooooooow learner!) what it means to be content.

I believe the key to contentment is to fully trust Christ with what ever it is He desires to give or in many cases what He chooses not to give.

Contentment comes as we grow closer to Christ, as we learn to see life through His eyes and rest in His Sovereignty.

I don’t think it’ s coincidence that godliness is listed first in the pair of attributes that the Word tells us will bring great gain.

“But godliness with contentment is great gain.”

 1 Timothy 6:6

I am sure that we must have the first before we have the latter.

We must know God, daily, personally, before we will ever be content. We must find the satisfaction that only He brings. There’s a God-shaped hole in every heart that only He can fit into. No matter how hard we try to fill the hole with things, people, events, etc. the ache for a sense of completion will never go away until we seek Him for relief.  Even then living in contentment will be a daily and continual journey.

I loved this quote.

Truly if we knew what He knows, we’d be content and happy with exactly where He has us today.

I am so thankful that He has the pen and that He is lovingly scripting my story. He certainly knows what’s best for me!

One Response to “On Contentment”

  1. Uncle Joe April 13, 2010 at 5:13 am #

    I believe contentment is a lifelong learning process. Even the Apostle Paul said “for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content”. He didn’t just say I am content. He had to learn how to be content also. Thank you for this post. I needed it this morning.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

