He Loves Me…

27 Mar

“Yea, I loved thee with an everlasting love…”

Jeremiah 31:3

I wear this necklace nearly everyday as a reminder of the miracle He performed in my life nearly 5 years ago. It was in July of 2005 that He made His love real to me in a way I had never sought Him long enough to know before.

But this morning He reminded me that I have lost sight of that love.

 

“Nevertheless I have somewhat against thee because thou hast left thy first love.”

Revelation 2:4

He loves me and yet I’ve left Him. Maybe not in my public actions but in my private seeking.

In the latter days of July and the early part of August 2005, I fell in love with Jesus through the Love Letter He left for me, and over the last 4 1/2 years I’ve sought to know Him better by knowing His Word. But lately I’ve allowed so much (mainly busyness) to keep me from my Bible and from the extended studies I once found such joy in.

I still love His Word, (once you’ve experienced It, you’ll never be the same!) but I long to long for It in a deeper way. I, like the church at Ephesus, have been laboring for His name’s sake (Rev. 2:3), but I have lost that close communion I once shared.

This morning in the quietness of an empty house, I finally spent some extended time in the precious pages of Scripture.

The word “left” in this verse comes from the Greek word aphiemi meaning lay aside, let alone, omit, yield up, put away, remit.

Ouch.

That really puts things into perspective. I have left my Jesus alone. I have laid Him aside for busyness, for ministry, for relationships. I have omitted the One who died for me.

And yet He loves me still.

Then I found something wonderful in the second chapter of Revelation following verse 2 that brought such conviction and heaviness to my heart:

“Remember therefore from whence thou art fallen, and repent, and do the first works…” verse 5

I found in this verse a reminder of how sweet the fellowship once was and a comforting call to return.

The Lord gives 3 commands in this verse.

First, He calls me to “Remember…”

Then to “repent…”

And finally to return and “…do…” what I once did.

I am so thankful for His love, for the fact that it is unconditional, redeeming, everlasting.

That He loves me enough to sweetly yet firmly call me back to where I need to be.

He is the Ultimate Prince Charming.

He is the One my soul loves and the one who loves me though my love for Him isn’t as steadfast as it should be.

I love my Lord, and I am determined to seek Him with a renewed diligence, to love Him with the love I loved Him with that first Summer when His Word filled the void left by shattered dreams and changed plans.

*see my testimony page for a detailed account of what the Lord did in my life in July 2005*
Leave a Reply

