I’m Trading Mine In…

12 Mar

I’ve had it.

I’m sick of being held back.

I’m tired of the constant thoughts overwhelming me.

I’m done carrying a burden that I don’t have to carry.

So I’m trading mine in.

My fear, that is.

If I’m not extremely diligent, I will live in it’s bondage. I’ll struggle through the day bearing the weight of it’s presence.

So you might wonder what I’m getting in return and who it is that is willing to agree to such a trade.

“Casting all your care upon Him, for He careth for you.”

1 Peter 5:7

“Be careful for nothing but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace that passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and mind through Christ Jesus.”

Philippians 4:6-7

My Loving Lord not only agreed to this trade, but longs for it. He watches me struggle with worry over the past, fear of the future and anxiousness in the present, longing for the moment when I’ll finally surrender.

And after He gives me His peace for my fear, His Word gives me wonderful instruction as to how to ensure it doesn’t creep back in.

 “Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.”

Philippians 4:8

Through Paul’s pen, the Lord instructs me to keep my thoughts right if I’m to stay free from fear’s grip. I’m to think thoughts that are true. This applies in a number of different ways.

First, I am to think true thoughts concerning the past.  I know it is no longer real. It cannot be changed no matter how much I think upon it. Past sins have been forgiven by my Lord. Countless failures and the many times I’ve fallen short have been buried deep in His sea of forgetfulness. So the past  falls under the category of things I am not to dwell on or be consumed by.

Secondly, I am to think true thoughts concerning the future. The dictionary’s definition of future is that which is to be or come hereafter. That means it is not yet true so therefore according to this verse I am not to think upon the future in a way that causes me to fear it. This doesn’t mean we are not to plan for it or seek God’s direction as to His will for it, but to do both of those things while leaving it in His hands.

Finally, I am to think true thoughts concerning the here and now. The present is true, I can and should think on it, but it is also the easiest to be overwhelmed by. So much on the to-do list. The ticking clock providing ever present back ground noise reminding me of the reason I’m so anxious in the first place. So how can I release these feelings and trade them for peace? By recognizing that I am facing nothing that He hasn’t offered grace to get through. By leaning upon Him as I tackle that ever-growing  list. By being in a constant state of prayer, continually trading the fear for His sweet peace at the moment it begins to stick it’s foot in the door.

Ultimately, I am to think thoughts that are true by thinking upon the Truth. The more Scripture I hide in my heart, the less room fear has to abide there.

So long fear! There’s the door!

He’s offered, and I’m trading mine in!

How about you?

 

“For God hath NOT given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”

2 Timothy 1:7

Leave a Reply

