The Word-Filled Life is the Joy-Filled Life!

18 Feb

It has been a joy-filled day! Nothing out of the ordinary has happened, but it has been a day full of the joy that Jesus brings!

Throughout the day, I find joy in the Scripture verses He brings to my mind.

When worry begins to creep in, He brings comfort with Philippians 4:6-7.

“Be careful for nothing; but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God which passeth all understanding shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”

When my heart begins to dwell upon what I don’t have, where I long to be, but I am not yet, He brings Psalm 138:8 to remind me that His timing is perfect.

“The Lord will perfect that which concerneth me…”

With Philippians 4:11, He reminds me to keep learning for I have not yet arrived to the point of contentment that the dear Apostle Paul had. (I’m not sure I ever will, but by His grace I will strive to do so!)

“Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.”

When I begin to question why or wonder if He’s forgotten me, this sweet verse from the lips of a man who knew trial well strengthens my heart.

“For He knoweth the way that I take: and when He hath tried me, I shall come forth as gold!” 

Job 23:10

When I allow self to win and neglect to spend time with my Savior before the day begins, He nudges my heart with a verse like Matthew 6:33.

“But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness and all these things shall be added unto you.”

When the tasks before me seem overwhelming, it’s Psalm 46:1 that enables me to surrender my stress for His peace.

“Be still and know that I am God.”

When I feel inadequate, He confirms for me with Psalm 118:8 that I am inadequate indeed (in myself!), but that He is more than able!

“It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man.”

When I am dwelling on past sin and failure, Micah 7:19 assures me that He has no memory of them!

“…Thou wilt cast all their sins into the depths of the sea.”

 

When I feel alone and forgotten, it’s Isaiah 41:13.

“For I the LORD thy God will hold thy right hand, saying unto thee, Fear not; I will help thee.”

When I am filled with praise and thankfulness for a God that loved me enough to save me and give me a life that knows the love of Jesus and has His precious Word to lean upon, I recall the Psalmist’s words in chapter 103.

“Bless the LORD, O my soul: and all that is within me, bless his holy name. Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits: Who forgiveth all thine iniquities; who healeth all thy diseases; Who redeemeth thy life from destruction; who crowneth thee with lovingkindness and tender mercies; Who satisfieth thy mouth with good things; so that thy youth is renewed like the eagle’s.” (verses 1-5)

I could go on and on with the portions of Scripture that make a joy-filled life possible for me! I can’t imagine what life would be like without His Word!

Leave a Reply

