How I Got Here (The Word-Filled Life Part IV)

12 Feb

Two nights ago as I studied before bed, the Lord reminded me of how I got here. How I got to the point of realizing the blessings and benefits of the Word-filled life from a life that was practically Word-less in the everyday study and love of It, a life that knew the stories well, but had never experienced the life-changing effect It would have upon a heart surrendered to It.

He used two verses from my beloved Psalm 119 that we have been studying lately.

 “Before I was afflicted I went astray: but now have I kept thy word.” verse 67

 “It is good for me that I have been afflicted; that I might learn thy statutes.” verse 71 

How did I get here?

Affliction.

 A broken heart.

Changed plans.

Through it, my Loving Lord called me to Himself, to His Word, to His Will for my life.

Now, I see the pain as purposeful. It was truly “good” that He allowed the affliction that I might know Him and be where I am today! Oh how thankful I am that He works in ways that may not seem good at first, but are so very good when looking back!

Today, Spurgeon’s morning devotional paralleled this thought:

‘When the black clouds gather most, the light is the more brightly revealed to us. When the night lowers and the tempest is coming on, the Heavenly Captain is always closest to His crew. It is a blessed thing, that when we are most cast down, then it is that we are most lifted up by the consolations of the Spirit…The humbler a man lies, the more comfort he will always have, because he will be more fitted to receive it. Another reason why we are often most happy in our troubles, is this–then we have the closest dealings with God. When the barn is full, man can live without God: when the purse is bursting with gold, we try to do without so much prayer. But once take our gourds away, and we want our God; once cleanse the idols out of the house, then we are compelled to honour Jehovah.”Out of the depths have I cried unto thee, O Lord.” There is no cry so good as that which comes from the bottom of the mountains; no prayer half so hearty as that which comes up from the depths of the soul, through deep trials and afflictions. Hence they bring us to God, and we are happier; for nearness to God is happiness.’

He allowed me to be cast me down that He might lift me up. Through trial, He gave me ‘close dealings with God’ and in them I found a deeper happiness than I’d ever known before.

I know that many have faced battles much more intense than the one He placed before me nearly 5 years ago, but it was through that battle that I got here.

Here where I know I am in His will. It is a most blessed place to be! 🙂 Here where I love His Word in a way I am deeply convinced I never would have had I continued with my plans (though I desire to love it and live it more fervently!). Here where I wait, excited and anxious about a future with His blessing unlike the future I had planned for myself!

I am SO glad I am here!

Wherever you are today, in a violent storm or a dark valley, ask the Lord to use it to lead you to a life that knows and loves Him more passionately, the Word-filled life. That you may look back and say with the Psalmist that the affliction   was indeed “good!”

“Thou are good and doest good..!”

Psalm 119:68

  “I know, O LORD, that thy judgments are right, and that thou in faithfulness hast afflicted me.”

Psalms 119:75

Leave a Reply

