I Have Hope

8 Feb

Taking a little break from the Word-filled Life Series and our study of Psalm 119, I wanted to share this passage with you today.

Right before bed last night, I had been seeking His forgiveness, and with a new day’s dawning, He reminded me that something else was also new. My loving Lord put these verses on my heart the very moment I woke up this morning.

“This I recall to my mind, therefore have I hope.  It is of the LORD’S mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:21-23 

New mercies. Fresh grace. Sweet Comfort. Hope for my hurting heart.

What a great way to start a day! To begin the day with renewed assurance of His forgiveness though I’ve fallen a thousand times brings great hope!

Hope to someone hopeless without the everlasting love and mercy of Jesus!

When I am “set…in (a) dark place…” (Lam. 3:6) because of my sinfulness, He shines the light of His love upon me once again. Reminding me that no sin is so great that His mercy is not greater. Reminding me that His love is everlasting and doesn’t waiver. Reminding me that His love for me is not dependent upon anything I do and don’t do! (Though the very knowledge of that makes me desire to love Him more!)

When my “chain (is) heavy” (Lam. 3:7) and my discouraged soul is “far off from peace,” (Lam. 3:17) it’s through these sweet reminders that I find relief.

Because I am joined to the Living, my Living Savior, that is, I have hope. (Ecc. 9:4)

Hope of living a life victorious over sin and self through the power of the Holy Spirit and the strength found in Scripture. Living a Christ-like life that brings my Lord glory seems a daunting task until I seek to live it through His ability. It’s then that I have hope, hope of succeeding at what often times seems impossible on my own.

Hope of a life story that is being scripted by an Author who is working all for my good regardless of how circumstances may present themselves at the moment. I don’t have to live bound by the chains of failure or burdened by an uncertain future. My Loving Lord holds the pen. Oh thankfully He holds the pen! What a mess I’ve made when I’ve taken it from Him. He knows what’s best!

Hope of an eternal Home in Heaven because my Lord died to purchase my pardon and provide for me an accepted place in a Kingdom I never could have earned on my own merit. Death has no sting. The grave holds no victory. My name’s been written on Heaven’s role.  My mansion has been prepared. My seat at the table has been set. What hope!

I’m rejoicing tonight because I have hope!

Praying you found His mercies new today and will find them sufficient again with the rising of the sun tomorrow! Praying you have the Hope that Jesus brings!

Leave a Reply

