The Word-Filled Life Part II

1 Feb

The Lord never ceases to teach me how vital it is to start the day with Him. What a good day it has been, and I know that it’s because I began the day with encouragement from His Word!

Psalm 119 continues in verse 28 telling me that I am to find strength in Scripture. At my very best, I am hopelessly weak. Even a good day can take every ounce of energy and strength I possess so it is absolutely necessary that I begin each day with strength gained from the One who’s weakness, if He had any, is stronger than I am at my strongest point! (1 Cor. 1:25) My soul truly does “melt…for heaviness” when I neglect to go in the strength the Word provides.

In verse 30, He tells me yet again, knowing how I need to be reminded, that I need to lay His Word before me. I need to physically choose the way of Truth every day by spending time in It.

Like the Psalmist, I need to stick to It. Like glue joins two sheets of paper, God’s Word is the glue that adheres my other wise wandering soul to Jesus. By knowing His Word, I know Him and to know is to love Him and live like Him. The word stick here in the original Hebrew text means to cling or adhere; figuratively, to catch by pursuit:–abide fast, cleave (fast together), follow close (hard after), be joined (together), keep (fast), overtake, pursue hard, stick, take. I catch a Christ-like spirit by pursuing my Savior through the written word He penned through choice servants many years ago.

To successfully run this race (Hebrews 12:1), I must “run the way of (his) commandments” an action found in verse 32. The word way here refers to a course of life, a mode of action. Don’t you desire that your course of life be one that is dictated by Scripture? I know I do, and it is most certainly a course. It’s something that takes time to cultivate, a lifetime that is. The more time I spend in the Word, the more I realize what weights are easily besetting me and find the strength I need to lay that which is hindering aside. May our modes of action be the one set forth for the Christian in our Guide for faith and practice.

In verse 34, we find the that we are to be observing His Word. This word doesn’t mean to merely look at, but to hedge myself about with it. To surround my soul with the knowledge of it and seek the Lord for His wisdom to understand it. After all, we find out a key characteristic of our Enemy in 1 Peter 5:8 is to seek whom he may devour and what better to fight the Devil’s attacks with than the quick and powerful sword of the Spirit! (Eph. 6:17, Heb. 4:12)

I’ll end tonight with verse 38 that challenges me to allow God to “stablish” His Word in my worried and wandering heart. It’s important that I am continually open and responsive to His Spirit’s work as He often uses the same verses to encourage me about certain areas of life. To the flesh, it is all too easy to view a familiar verse without truly allowing  the power and Truth in It sink in and continue to change me. Today’s joy came from a verse the Lord continually uses in my life. This morning , as I happened upon this verse in Psalm 138, my initial reaction was to just read it as black words on white paper, but the Lord began to use it to assure me of His Perfectness once again. The word “stablish” means to rise, be clearer, continue, confirm. How often I need Him to use the same verses over and over to confirm His promises to me not because He has waivered but because my faith has.

A Word-filled life will be a life that belongs to one who believes deep down in His flawless ability to perfect that which concerneth them, to stay true to His Word, to ensure that not one word ever returns void, (Psalm 138:8, Isaiah 55:11) and what a blessed life it is!

2 Responses to “The Word-Filled Life Part II”

  1. Emily February 2, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    I’m not sure if this will let me leave a comment. I tried to leave one and I don’t think that it let me. I wanted to try one more time. Thank you for this blog. It is really encouraging to see how the Lord works.

  2. Uncle Joe February 3, 2010 at 2:14 am #

    The things you have written in these last 2 blogs are why we are never told just to read the word. We are told to study and to meditate. When we do that, the Spirit is able to speak to our hearts and bring out the deeper meanings of His precious word. Thanks for sharing with us.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

