More than Going Through the Motions

24 Jan

It has been a wonderful Sunday with time in God’s house and time with my sweet family.  Tonight, I heard a great message that brought much-needed challenge and encouragement. It’s theme was ministry and how it needs to be more than just something that we do to be doing it.

What a challenge to my heart that can so often be going through the motions!

We were admonished to pray that the Lord would give us a minister’s heart instead of just busily going about the work half-heartedly.

Reminded that true ministry isn’t just showing up to teach Sunday school on Sunday morning or singing in the choir (even though both are great and needed things to be doing), but about meeting people where they are with the power of the Gospel.

Doing ministry His way means lifting up the fallen and helping them stand again. It means bringing hope to the hurting so that healing can begin. It means understanding that the lost are no different than we were before someone shared Jesus with us. Most importantly, it means going to the lost with the Salvation we’ve been so graciously given.

Ministry is words and action together. One is worthless without the other.

I believe we’d take our ministry more seriously if we lived in constant realization of Who called us into it in the first place.

 “And I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who hath enabled me, for that he counted me faithful, putting me into the ministry;”

1 Timothy 1:12 

He saw that we could minister to others through the marvelous mercy He gave us so He blessed with this precious privilege. He alone gives us the ability to minister.

I want to be faithful to Him. What a tragedy it would be to fail my Father who trusted me enough to give me this opportunity.

May I take Paul’s command to Archippus in Colossians 4:17  as my own and

” Take heed to the ministry which (I have) received in the Lord, that (I) fulfil it.”

Praying you have a wonderful week full of many ministry opportunities!

One Response to “More than Going Through the Motions”

  1. Uncle Joe January 25, 2010 at 3:07 am #

    What a great reminder that the things that we do for the Lord truly are privileges to serve Him. May we always keep that in mind as we carry out work that He has for each one of us to do. It will change how we do things. Thanks for sharing with us.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

