Case Dismissed

11 Jan

As I enter in the courtroom, with my head bowed low, knowing I’ve got no place left to go,

I’m ashamed of the deeds, of the deeds that I have done, aware of the fact that I don’t deserve God’s Son

Yet standing next to me with a smile on His face is this carpenter from Nazareth offering His grace

Just then God looks down from His Holy Throne, knowing that the price was paid my sins to atone!

He picks up His gavel, and He thinks for a moment, does she really deserve my Son’s blessed atonement?

Yet He smiles as He thinks of Calvary where His Son bled and died so that I could go free!

Case dismissed is the verdict, Case dismissed ALL evidence destroyed!

Case dismissed by the blood of your Savior, Case dismissed, free forevermore!

I wrote these words almost 4 years ago, but the message is still real to me. As I studied this morning, I began to center on my Lord, as my Intercessor.

Spurgeon’s devotional dealt with Jesus’ warning to Peter in Luke chapter 22. He tells Peter that Satan desires to have him that he may sift him as wheat. What a frightening warning! As believers we too are susceptible to Satan’s attacks, but thankfully we have access to very same solution that Jesus offered Peter that day:

“But I have prayed for thee, that thy faith fail not…” Luke 22:32 

We hear much about our need to be people of prayer, and it is a much-needed message, but do we ever pause to think about the fact that Jesus Himself is praying for us?

As I pondered this thought, He brought Hebrews 7:25 to mind, “Wherefore he is able also to save them to the uttermost that come unto God by him, seeing he ever liveth to make intercession for them.”

Not only does He save us completely (Thank you Lord!), but He is continually making intercession for us! The Greek word for intercession means to entreat in favor of. 

He goes to His Father for me!

He pleads my case using His shed blood as payment for the wrong I’m so guilty of!

He’s in favor of me when so often everything I am is against Him!

Through Him I can go to the mercy seat and receive forgiveness of sin!

I need not go through another for I have the Sinless Lamb of God on my side!

The verses to follow, verses 26-28,  assure us of His Perfectness, of His ability to dismiss the countless cases the devil brings against us.  

“For such an high priest became us, who is holy, harmless, undefiled, separate from sinners, and made higher than the heavens; Who needeth not daily, as those high priests, to offer up sacrifice, first for his own sins, and then for the people’s: for this he did once, when he offered up himself. For the law maketh men high priests which have infirmity; but the word of the oath, which was since the law, maketh the Son, who is consecrated for evermore.”

He “became us!” I love that phrase! A holy and righteous God thought it fitting for us to have a once for all Sacrifice instead of the yearly Passover sacrifice that could only atone for a moment. He can represent us because He is “separate from sinners!” He is our Advocate, not needing to sacrifice like others for His own sins because He has never committed one single sin of His own. He did, however, take on our sin and by doing so “took it out of the way, nailing it to his cross” that we would never have to pay the eternal penalty for it! (Col. 2:14)

So blessed today by an interceding Savior who never ceases to plead on my behalf thus resulting in a “Case dismissed” verdict!

Leave a Reply

