My Resting Place

6 Jan

When fear comes creeping in, it finds a place to rest.

V1: My faith has found a resting place,
Not in device or creed;
I trust the ever living One,
His wounds for me shall plead.
Chorus: I need no other argument,
 I need no other plea,
It is enough that Jesus died,
And that He died for me.
V2: Enough for me that Jesus saves,
This ends my fear and doubt;
A sinful soul I come to Him,
He’ll never cast me out.
V3: My heart is leaning on the Word,
The living Word of God,
Salvation by my Savior’s Name,
Salvation through His blood.
V4: My great Physician heals the sick,
The lost He came to save;
For me His precious blood He shed,
For me His life He gave.

This is another hymn that has recently become dear to me. Tonight it’s verses three and four that are bringing sweet comfort to my otherwise fearful heart.

Not only has my faith found a resting place in Jesus, but so has my fear!

By leaning on His Word, making it my portion, I can find rest. Rest when tomorrow is uncertain and rest when I am overwhelmed.

Especially sweet tonight is the thought that He is the Great Physician. Who better than the Creator to care for the creation? If He gave His life for me will He not give  all else I need?

This post is yet another request for my grandfather as he undergoes another surgery tomorrow morning. He will be having his pacemaker replaced. I was anxious tonight, but I am thankful that with Jesus we have a continual place to rest!

I desire your prayers. I know that He will guide the doctor’s hands and enable us to rest in Him while we wait!

"Rest in the Lord..." 
Psalm 37:7
Leave a Reply

