A Work in Progress

4 Jan

“He’s still working on me to make me what I ought to be…”

Rising early this morning before the sunrise, I read a portion of Psalm 36.

“Thy mercy, O LORD, is in the heavens; and thy faithfulness reacheth unto the clouds. Thy righteousness is like the great mountains; thy judgments are a great deep: O LORD, thou preservest man and beast.  How excellent is thy lovingkindness, O God! therefore the children of men put their trust under the shadow of thy wings.  They shall be abundantly satisfied with the fatness of thy house; and thou shalt make them drink of the river of thy pleasures.  For with thee is the fountain of life: in thy light shall we see light.”

                                                                                                                            Psalm 36:5-9 

“…In thy light shall we see light.” I want to see light, and the only way to do that is to be in His light!

So my morning devotions became a study of the word “light.” O how I need His light in my life! I settle so often for the darkness of sin and self when I have His marvelous light available to me! If He has called me out of darkness, why do I dwell there?

Another part of my resolution for 2010 involves rising early while it is yet dark in order to have the time necessary to dwell in and walk in His light, spiritually. This morning as the alarm sounded at 5:30, I struggled to open my eyes. Rolling over, I realized it was Monday, meaning a full day of teaching and other responsibilities were awaiting me. The flesh said, “You have 45 minutes before you really need to get up.” The Spirit said, “If you desire to be more diligent this is the way you need to start.” He was working on me, and I had a choice to make. Would I choose to follow flesh or Spirit?

The day to follow would be affected by my choice. It could be a day of darkness or a day of His light.

Thankfully when the flesh is strong, His Spirit is stronger, and He gives the grace to choose His way.

A day in His light is truly a day lived as we should be living. It brings the joy in the journey that He intends for us to walk in. He called us out for a purpose, and I desire to live in that purpose. He desires that we would show forth His praises and that’s impossible to do while dwelling in darkness. Would you rather live in the light where you can see where you’re headed and what’s going on around you or in darkness where you’re stumbling around and attempting to blindly discover what’s around the bend?

I think I’ll take the light, but that’s only because He’s loving enough to continue working on me! I am thankful that His work in my life is continual! How blessed am I that He is patient and gracious with me even though I am so often difficult to work with! 

I am today and will continue to be His work in progress!

  “For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.”

Ephesians 2:10

Leave a Reply

