New

2 Jan

January 1st often brings new year’s resolutions for many of us. If I could only make one resolution on the second day of 2010, it would be to have a renewed love for and devotion to God’s Word.

I want to study familiar passages of Scripture and be taught new lessons and be challenged in ways I haven’t been before.

I want the black words on white paper to be real to me in a new way.

I want the Lord to do a new thing, to know Him in a better and more personal way.

The first passage that I read on January 1st was Ezekiel 36.

It was verses 9 and 11 that struck me in a great way giving me a fresh outlook on the year ahead.

“For behold I am for you…and I will settle you after your old estates, and will do BETTER unto you than at your beginnings: and ye shall know that I am the Lord.”

What awesome thoughts…

He is for me! He is on my side and is working ALL things for my good!

He will settle my old estates. He has forgiven past sin and buried it deep in the depths of the sea! He has given sufficient grace for the journey, healed past wounds, and loved me with an everlasting love through it all.

He will do better things in my life as this year unfolds! He is not only Lord of Lords but the Lord of my life right down to the smallest detail!

I am excited about the new things He has planned and praying that this year will bring a new and more fervent desire in my heart to love my Lord and live for Him in a greater way!

“…Quicken thou me according to thy word.”

Psalm 119:25

Leave a Reply

