Looking Both Ways…

31 Dec

Back at 2009.

Forward to 2010.

With just over one hour left in 2009, I’ve found myself thinking back over all that has taken place and forward to all that 2010 will hold.

2009 was a year of big changes in my life, but looking back I see a Faithful and Sufficient God who has been very present through all of it! I am thankful that He gave me the courage to walk this road although I couldn’t see what was waiting as I looked ahead last December 31st. He has made His promises even more precious to me than they’ve ever been before. He has made ways in ways I would have never imagined when there seemed to be no way.

2009 also brought the creation of this blog as a way to share what God was teaching me through His Word and Work in my life. It has been such a blessing to me to have a place to share what He’s doing with you, and I pray that it has blessed you and challenged you in your walk with Him.

Looking ahead to 2010, I am anxious and excited about what He has planned. Knowing that His thoughts are not like mine, I won’t even try to predict what’s in store, but I am certain that it will  be “exceeding abundantly above all that I ask or think.” (Eph. 3:20) Of course I have hopes and desires, but He continues to teach me that waiting for Him and trusting His timing leads to a journey full of joy and a heart that can truly love my Lord. I have much to learn, and I know that what He gives and continues to hold back will be exactly what I need to grow up into Him in 2010. I can’t wait to see what He has in store! 🙂

As I stand at this crossroads of 2009 and 2010, I am looking both ways, back on 365 days lived by His grace and prayerfully in a way that has brought Him glory and forward to 365 more days that hold much uncertainty but much excitement. And as I look, I know that the same God that has been faithful through the changes and circumstances of 2009 will continue to be as the clock strikes midnight tonight.

 May your new year be as full of the joy that this journey with Jesus can bring!

  “Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended: but this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind, and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.”

Philippians 3:13-14

One Response to “Looking Both Ways…”

  1. Uncle Joe January 1, 2010 at 5:54 am #

    You said in this post that you hoped this blog has been a blessing and a challenge to us. I want to assure that it truly has been. I love starting my day out with what you have shared. I too look forward to 2010 with great excitment. I know there are big changes coming, but I know He will take care of me. Thank you for this blog and everything else you do for our Lord.

    LOVE you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

