The Same

28 Dec

The gifts have been opened.

The stockings have been emptied.

The cookies have been eaten.

The anticipation and preparation have been replaced with thoughts of a new year and new things to do.

The signs of the season are quickly becoming a distant memory as retailers have whisked the Christmas decorations onto clearance racks and put Valentine’s candy and cards in their places.

I’ve been thinking today of how quickly all that we plan and prepare for passes. How quickly December 1st has turned into December 28th. How 2009 will be 2010 in just over 72  hours.

But tonight with the thoughts of the brevity of it all filling my mind, this verse has also been there bringing sweet comfort to quickly changing circumstances.

“Jesus Christ the same yesterday, and today, and forever.”

Hebrews 13:8

I love how this verse includes every facet of time.

I love that He is for me today what He was yesterday and what He will continue to be tomorrow.

Yesterday His grace was greater than all my sin, and today, as I have needed it again, it is still greater. Tomorrow when I find myself upon my knees, it will still be greater.

Today, I find Him faithful just as He was yesterday, and for the rest of my days He will be just that.

Today, He is enough, and tomorrow, He will continue to be!

Regardless of what comes and goes, He will be the same through it all.

So as the decorations are packed away and December turns into January, remember that He will always be the same  no matter what 2010 has in store! 🙂

One Response to “The Same”

  1. Uncle Joe December 29, 2009 at 6:57 am #

    What a great thought to wake up to this morning. Everything around us seem to changing at record speed, but He is always the same. Thanks for sharing that with us today.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

