Dust.

26 Dec

Psalm 103 tells us of the light in which our loving Lord views His children,

“…He remembereth that we are dust.” (vs. 14)

But often I forget.

I read this quote awhile ago, but stumbled upon it again today when I was in desperate need of it. I needed to be reminded.

“He who grows in grace remembers that he is but dust, and he therefore does not expect his fellow Christians to be anything more. He overlooks ten thousand of their faults, because he knows his God overlooks twenty thousand in his own case. He does not expect perfection in the creature, and therefore, he is not disappointed when he does not find it.”

~Charles Spurgeon

It’s all too easy to view self through rose-colored glasses. To see as Jesus himself said the mote in the eye of another while neglecting to see the beam in our own.

The point Jesus is making in Matthew chapter 7 was sharpened for me when I realized the meanings of beam and mote in the original Greek text.

Why do we behold the mote or twig in the eye of our brother when in our own eye we’d find a beam or stick of timber in our own if we’d only look closely at ourselves?

Because we are dust.

How often we pick out the tiny, miniscule flaw in another when we have our own major issues to be concerned with.

I know this is true in my own life as I take time to examine self closely.  I see a sinner who is selfish and impatient. I see dust who has no right to point out the flaws of others when her own failures are increasingly evident.

I am grateful tonight that time spent in Scripture quickly reminds me that I am merely dust. A reminder that will lead to living in light of that fact and call me closer to the One who can remove the timber and make me usable again.

What a lesson He has been trying to teach me lately. Oftentimes my sinfulness makes me a slow (very slow!) learner when it comes to the spiritual lessons I am in desperate need of being taught. I am so grateful that He (and the many others who must put up with me!) is patient with me, knowing my frame, remembering that I am dust.

*Remind me Lord that I am dust,
full of sin and self apart from You.
May I live conscious of the fact
that when You forgave me,
You forgave MUCH,
that I may be quick to show your grace to others.*
One Response to “Dust.”

  1. Uncle Joe December 27, 2009 at 4:34 am #

    This is a lesson we all need to be taught over and over again. We all tend to “think more highly of ourselves” than we should from time to time. Thank you for being honest with us so we can honest with ourselves, others and God.
    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

