I forgot to mention…

19 Dec

Lately, I’ve been focusing on what I don’t have instead of on the wonderful things He has done for me! Today while spending this snowy Saturday inside, I began reading through some of my old notebooks. I found this verse in my notebook from January of this year.

“I will mention the lovingkindness of the Lord, and the praises of the Lord, according to all that the Lord hath bestowed on us, and the great goodness toward the house of Israel, which He hath bestowed on them according to His mercies, and according to the multitude of His loving kindnesses.” Isaiah 63:7

I have been forgetting to mention how very good He has been to me!

If I was to (which I should be!) be praising Him according to all that He has bestowed upon me I would be praising Him for all eternity! Words of my own choosing will never be enough to express the greatness of what He’s done if I stop but for a second and think upon it! His own Word sums it up, that when I’ve truly grasped His awesomeness I will “abundantly utter” (Psalm 145:7) His praises for what He has done and “sing of His righteousness” (Psalm 145:7) for what I know He’s doing and is going to do!

I can be filled with His praises even in the waiting because I know that “the Lord is righteous in all His ways, and holy in all His works!” (Psalm 145:17) When I’m in a season of waiting, I’m waiting because it’s what’s righteous in His perfect plan for me today and what will bring Him the most glory in the end! And isn’t that what I want most, “that God in ALL things may be glorified?” (1 Peter 4:11)

I can trust that where He has me today is not pointless but purposeful, and that I am gaining good in it that He can see at this very moment. Since He is righteous in ALL of His ways, it means He will not allow anything that He doesn’t have a reason for!

To abundantly utter means to gush forth, to emit, pour out, bubble forth.

When I am focused upon ALL that He has done, I can pour out praise unto my Savior! When I remember that I have received “of His fullness” (John 1:16), that I am now and forever “saved to the uttermost” (Heb. 7:25), I can gush forth with gratefulness! When I think upon what great things He has done for me in 2009 , 🙂 I bubble up with the realization that the amazing blessings I’ve been given have come with love from His Sovereign Hand!

I am thankful that He has a way of reminding me of the things I forget!

One Response to “I forgot to mention…”

  1. Uncle Joe December 20, 2009 at 5:45 am #

    If we would all be honest, none of us praise God as much as we should for all that He has done for us. I know we can’t give Him all the praise He deserves while we are here, but I believe we could do better than what we do. Thanks for sharing with us.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

