I Need Thee, O I Need Thee!

17 Dec

Presents to buy.

Presents to wrap.

Papers to grade.

Laundry to wash.

 And the list goes on and on.

In the busyness of it all, it’s so easy to be overwhelmed. With 6 shopping days until Christmas and a million other things to do before the 25th of December, if I’m not careful I will allow minutes, hours, even days to pass before I realize that I’ve neglected to think upon the Christ of Christmas. And when I realize that I haven’t been thinking about Him, I realize why I am so overwhelmed.

Yesterday morning the weight of it all was pressing me, but the Lord reminded me of this sweet verse of Scripture. It has long been a favorite (I have a lot of those, don’t I? 🙂 ), but it has provided the strength I’ve needed over the last two days!

“Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.”

Isaiah 26:3 

The word stayed here is the Hebrew word camak meaning to prop (literally or figuratively); reflexively, to lean upon or take hold of (in a favorable or unfavorable sense):–bear up, establish, (up-)hold, lay, lean, lie hard, put, rest self, set self, stand fast, stay (self), sustain.

Before thinking upon all of the things that overwhelm me, I am to prop my thoughts up with the peace of my Savior. I am to be leaning upon Him. I am to rest self as I think upon who He is, what He has done for me, and what He will do for me today if I’ll only cease trying to do it on my own.

A stayed mind,  a mind stayed upon Him not upon the growing list of things to do, is what I need if I am to accomplish all that needs to be accomplished in the coming week!

Today, the words to “I Need Thee Every Hour” have also been on my heart, as I have been very aware of that need. O how I need to stay my mind upon Him! I realize that my tasks are nothing major compared to some of the things that others face on a daily basis, but I learned that it was the common, everyday tasks that spurred the writing of this hymn in 1872.

Annie Hawks, the author of this hymn, wrote the following referring to it’s origin;

“One day as a young wife and mo­ther of 37 years of age, I was bu­sy with my reg­u­lar house­hold tasks. Sud­den­ly, I be­came so filled with the sense of near­ness to the Mast­er that, won­der­ing how one could live with­out Him, ei­ther in joy or pain, these words, “I Need Thee Ev­e­ry Hour,” were ush­ered in­to my mind, the thought at once tak­ing full pos­sess­ion of me.”

Just as Annie needed Him 137 years ago, I too need my precious Savior every hour!

 So I will, by His Grace, stay my mind upon Him as I become more and more aware of how much I truly need Him!

Leave a Reply

