Believing for His Blessing

30 Nov

I have a tendency to worry.

I know that it’s hard to believe, but I must admit that I am prone to do so. How often my Loving Lord must redirect my fearful heart to His Promises and assure me that He is, as He ALWAYS has been, in complete and total control. I usually do pretty well with trusting Him in the here and now, in today, but when it comes to the unknown of the future I am apt to grow anxious.

Tonight has been one of those nights when the ‘not-yets’ of tomorrow are crowding my mind and affecting my attitude and outlook today. I tend to dwell on what I can’t yet see, get frustrated by what I can’t yet plan out (I think that’s the teacher in me!), and miss out on a joyful today because I’m so focused on tomorrow. I am thankful for the sweet and precious Promises of Scripture and the assurance they bring to my heart.

Tonight, I began reading a new devotional book and believe it or not, my eyes fell upon this verse! A verse that fit my current circumstance perfectly! It’s in moments like these when I wonder why I ever allow worry to win! My God is REAL and READY to respond! He’s able to bless if I’ll only believe.

“Again I say unto you, That if two of you shall agree on earth as touching anything that they shall ask, it shall be done for them of my Father which is in Heaven.”

Matthew 18:19

When two of His children come before Him, desiring His blessing, believing His perfectness, and trusting His timing, He will come through! When we are assured that He is wise enough and good enough to respond in His own perfect way, He will indeed respond. It’s when He gets our hearts where He desires them to be that He will move in our circumstances and situations. Sometimes His delay is for our benefit, to teach us more about Himself and to draw us closer to His Side.

But regardless of what may seem like a delay from our human viewpoint, He has given us another Promise. He brought this verse to my mind as I prayed a prayer of praise for the wonderful thing He did in my life 365 days ago. 😉

  “And when he putteth forth his own sheep, he goeth before them…” John 10:4 

 He reminded me that just as He had gone before me in November of last year, preparing each and every little detail for a beautiful chapter of life to be written (O how beautiful it is! Thank you Lord! 🙂 ), He is going before me right now!  He is working, changing, growing, moving right now so that I can see His hand upon the next 365 days when I look back at them from November 2010. I may not be able to see or understand fully what He is doing today, but by then I will see the more of the amazing picture He’s painting and be thankful He brought to pass that which He brought to pass. Last November 30th, I never would’ve imagined that He would have me where I am today, but He knew all along because He was going before me! With Him, a Promise made is a Promise kept not once but continually, over and over again!

Tonight, I am believing for His blessing because His Word has given me the confidence I needed to trust an unknown future to a known God! Regardless of what’s around the bend, I have a very faithful God by my side for the journey!

One Response to “Believing for His Blessing”

  1. Uncle Joe December 1, 2009 at 3:51 am #

    It is a wonderful thought to know that where God is leading us He has already been there. I needed that reminder myself this morning. I get a little anxious sometimes when I think of what God is calling me to do, but I know He will be with me. Thank you for this post.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

