Looking Through His Eyes…

28 Nov

A young shepherd boy certainly didn’t seem like king material to anyone looking on at the scene unfolding that day at Jesse’s home. Maybe that’s why they didn’t even bother to call him from his task of watching the sheep in the field. Surely Eliab, Abinadab or another one of Jesse’s sons would be chosen so there was no need to bother little David with coming before Samuel, was there?

One by one each son passed before Samuel and one by one the Lord whispered, “No, not this one.” into Samuel’s listening ears. As the last of the older sons stood before him, he heard the same answer, “No, not this one.”

“And Samuel said unto Jesse, Are here all thy children?”

“And he said, There remaineth yet the youngest, and, behold, he keepeth the sheep.”

So Jesse called young David from his post though it didn’t seem possible that he would be the Lord’s anointed, but to everyone’s surprise, the Lord’s response was different, “Arise, anoint him: for this is he.”

This account encouraged and convicted me this morning as my Bible opened to the sixteenth chapter of 1 Samuel.

The Lord’s reply to Samuel as he questioned why none of Jesse’s older sons had been chosen was the verse that has been on my heart all day.

“…for the Lord seeth not as man seeth; for man looketh on the outward appearance, but the Lord looketh on the heart.”

 1 Samuel 16:7

Most commonly, this verse assures the reader that no matter how they appear to man in God’s eyes he is capable of much if his heart is right. In this light, the verse brings encouragement.

It did that for me today, assuring me that I am capable of accomplishing much for God if my heart is right before Him regardless of man’s opinion.

But in another light, this verse also brought conviction. The Lord showed me that often we can be looking the part and have those looking on convinced that we are all that we should be when inwardly our heart is far from Him.

I love it when the Lord uses a verse of Scripture to speak to my heart with a two-fold message! Only His Word can do that!

This account reminded me that it is imperative that the condition of my heart inwardly and my actions before man outwardly are matching up. Regardless of how I appear to man, looking through His eyes He sees the reality of who I really am. Am I humble and right before Him? If so, I can do extraordinary things for His glory! Am I haughty and prideful going it on my own? If so, I will accomplish nothing despite how right I am may appear on the outside.

David’s heart was right in the Lord’s eyes so he was given the honor of leading a great nation even though he was initially overlooked when it came time to anoint a new king. May I ever be concerned with what I look like through His eyes so that I can be of best use in His service.

Leave a Reply

