More

11 Nov

My posts have been short and sporadic lately mirroring my walk with Him. My heart is much like Martha’s, busily serving yet neglecting the seeking. (Luke 10:40) But tonight I am wanting more.

More love for Him. More love for His Word. More love for those I love the most. More of His Heart. More of His Spirit. More of His sweet conviction (Does that seem like an oxymoron? It’s not! Hebrews 12:10). More trust in His Promises. More burden for the Lost. More energy (physically and spiritually speaking) for the Race that needs to be run. More ability (His ability, that is) to be and do more. More.

I’m tired of settling for mediocre when He has marvelous for me to claim. I am praying for more tonight.

The book of Deuteronomy has long been one of my favorite Old Testament books. I think it’s because I see myself in the children of Israel or that it has a huge emphasis on keeping His Word as a part of daily life, but regardless of the reason it has always given such challenge to my heart. That has been true over the last two days. Yesterday it was chapter 8 and today chapter 11.

He reminded me that there is blessing in the diligent keeping of His Word. Of course, I already knew this, but lately I have slacked and He knew I needed a refresher course! He taught be much through the many if-then statements in this passage. Though our salvation is not based on works, I believe that receiving His blessing on our lives is.

“And it shall come to pass, IF ye shall hearken diligently unto my commandments which I command you this day, to love the Lord your God, and to serve Him with all your heart and with all your soul, That I will give you the rain of your land in due season..”

 Deu. 11:13-14

IF I “hearken diligently,” THEN He will bless. IF I love Him fervently, THEN He will become more of what matters to me, He will become my all in all. IF I do these things daily, THEN He will give me the more I desire.

The word hearken means to hear intelligently often with the application of attention or obedience! It’s not a mere hearing of the ears, but more. It is action. It is be a doer of the Word. It’s taking black words from white paper and asking Him to bring them to life in our lives.

Did you know that the Hebrew word for diligently here means exactly the same thing as the word hearken! Both words come from the Hebrew word shama meaning to hear intelligently with the application of attention or obedience! I think He’s trying to tell us something! So much so that He repeats Himself as He reminds the Israelites of their need to seek Him first before service.

Our service means next to nothing if it’s done without a diligent hearkening unto His Word. Serving like that only leaves you dry, calloused and frustrated. Not much is accomplished like that.

So tonight the prayer upon my heart is for more. I am thankful that He guarantees blessing upon those that seek Him for it. He has given us the choice. We can settle for the mundane, middle of the road, going through the motions kind of Christian living or we can have the magnificent, extraordinary, words can’t describe the wonder of it kind of Christian living He intends for us.

He gave us two options. Which one will I choose?

“Behold, I set before you this day a blessing and a curse:

A blessing, IF (there it is again!) ye obey the commandments of the Lord your God, which I command you this day:

And a curse, IF ye will not obey the commandments of the Lord your God, but turn aside out of the way which I command you this day…”

Deu. 11:26-28

I think I’ll take more. How about you?

One Response to “More”

  1. Uncle Joe November 12, 2009 at 4:05 am #

    I’m with you, I want more than just a mundane, middle of the road walk with the Lord. And He does too. He desires to pour out His blessings on His people, but that comes with obediant living. I pray that the Lord will help me to live in a way that I can recieve those blessings. Thank you for this post.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

