Great is Thy Faithfulness…

8 Nov

Oh God my Father! There is no shadow of turning with Thee!

Surprisingly, this hymn is relatively new to me! Growing up it was never one that we sang often, if we ever sang it at all, but recently it has become one of my favorites. Tonight, as I drove home at the conclusion of another wonderful day full of uncountable blessings, the words to this song brought several Scriptures to my mind!

    …Thou changest not, Thy compassions, they fail not:
    As thou hast been Thou forever wilt be.
    What a blessed thought that our Lord changeth not! (Malachi 3:6) In a world of consant change, we have a God that’s ever constant! 🙂 Though seasons come and seasons go, He remains! 🙂Sunset background25
    Great is Thy faithfulness,
    Great is Thy faithfulness,
    Morning by morning new mercies I see:
    All I have needed Thy hand hath provided
    Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord unto me!
    To know that what I have is exactly what I need and that if I don’t have it, I don’t need it. That brings an unexplainable joy to my heart! He is a God of bountiful provision and He has proved that to me in the last year in ways that I will never be able to explain! He has taught me (and continues to teach me!) that His provision is perfect! Every morning brings a new and sweet assurance that He, The Faithful One, is exactly that, faithful. (Lamentations 3:22-23)
  •  
      Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth.
      Thine own dear presence to cheer and to guide,
      Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow
      Blessings all mine, with ten thousand beside!
       

                    Pardon for sin! To know that my countless faults, failures, and shortcomings have been removed as far as the east is from the west! (Psalm 103:12) To know that He has cast it all behind His back and that He cannot remember any of the horrible and sinful things I’ve done! (Isaiah 35:18) It’s a blessed thought to think about the fact that He doesn’t think about my sinfulness, but rather sees the righteousness of Christ! 🙂

                    To know that I am never alone, that His Presence is with me at all times brings that peace that endureth! I face everyday with strength sufficient lovingly provided by my Savior. In Isaiah chapter 66, it is referred to as a peace like a river. (verse 12) In the book of Philippians, we find the wondrous blessing of peace that passeth all understanding. (4:7) A peace that remains when life is anything but peaceful quietly assuring us that all is well. This is the peace of God in true form!

                      Even if my todays are stormy, I have bright hope for tomorrow, knowing that He has a perfect plan and purpose for the drenching rain, howling winds, and rolling thunder! And on those days, like today, when the sun is shining bright and I am overwhelmed with the goodness of my Great God, I truly believe that if I were to attempt to count my blessings, they would surely number 10,000 or more!I pray that this post helped you to pause for a moment and ponder the great faithfulness of our loving Lord! May the knowledge and assurance of that faithfulness provide all that you need this week!
                    Leave a Reply

