Becoming

4 Nov

“Only let your conversation be as it becometh the gospel of Christ…”

 Philippians 1:27

This verse has been on my heart since one of my late night studies on the trip! I have been deeply convicted and challenged to strive for becoming conversation in my life in a more fervent way!

The word conversation literally means to behave as a citizen, to live. The Greek word for becoming means appropriately:–suitable. The dictionary’s definition for becoming is an attractive appearance.

I am to live in a way that is appropriate in light of the Gospel! I am to behave as a citizen of the country to which I girl-prayingbelong and that is the Heavenly country that Christ died to give me entrance into!

Then today I “stumbled” upon this quote that paralleled this verse perfectly.

“Be thou ever one of those whose manners are Christian, whose speech is like the Nazarene, whose conduct and conversation are so redolent of heaven, that all who see you may know that you are the Savior’s, recognizing in you His features of  love and His countenance of holiness.”

~ Charles Spurgeon

Are my manners Christian? Is my speech like that of the Nazarene’s? Do my actions point to the Place where I belong? As others pass by or encounter my actions do they know to Whom I belong? Do I look like Jesus?

These questions are on my mind tonight calling me to a more faithful prayer life as I strive to become a more becoming Christian.

Leave a Reply

