So little time…

29 Oct

clock2Does that seem to be the theme of your life? These days, it fits mine well! I am busily rushing through every day, needing to get from here to there, accomplish this and that and do it all well. Sometimes it all gets overwhelming. There is so much to do and so little time!

My cell phone is constantly reminding me that the minutes are swiftly passing! My desk calendar is full of numerous tasks that must be accomplished in the only 24 precious hours of each day! As I fall into bed at the end of the day or in the early hours of the next day, I mentally review the day’s events, trying to make sure I’ve done all that needs to be done!

In the midst of the busyness, it’s easy to skip what should be first on the list, time with my Lord. I am more convinced everyday that if time with Him doesn’t occur first regardless of how busy the day is to be or how many items await a check mark on the to-do list, it probably won’t occur or will occur for a few minutes before I drift off to sleep somewhere around midnight.

Somehow there’s always the “I’ll read after I do such and such” or “Just let me finish this and then I’ll pray.” These are often my responses to my Lord’s gentle nudging and reminding that I’ve yet to approach His Throne for any extended period of time. All of this can be quickly eliminated if I would only seek Him FIRST!

The concept is not complex. He simply told us in Matthew chapter 6 that time with Him should be the TOP priority. I am so very guilty of trying to serve without seeking. My service will then be in vain if I miss the seeking. It takes SEEKING+SERVING to equal SUCCESS in the Christian life, and they must come in that order!

This weekend, we’re going to North Carolina for what I pray will be a few days of consistent time with Him. Away from that calendar full of tasks to be accomplished and from the alarm clock that seems to sound a few hours too early every morning, it is my prayer to re-establish some things in my walk with Him. Pray that He will enable me to seek Him first so that my service will be effective. The Harvest is too plenteous to waste the time we have left!

I’m not sure if I’ll have Internet access while I’m away, but I am taking my computer, just in case! If I don’t, I pray I will have had some great studies on the trip to post when we return!

Enjoy the last few days of October!

  “But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.”

 Matthew 6:33

Leave a Reply

