“Consider…

25 Oct

Christ Jesus…”

Hebrews 3:1

That has been His challenge to me since a wonderful study He gave me yesterday morning! He called me to slow down and take some time to look at Him for a while!

I loved what I found when I searched out the Greek meaning of the word “consider.”

To consider means to observe fully, behold, perceive. It comes from a root word that means to exercise the mind, to comprehend.

It seems that the call to comprehend Christ is an impossible task for His greatness cannot be fathomed by our finite gerberadaisyminds. However, this doesn’t keep the writer of Hebrews from including this challenge at the beginning of the third chapter. I believe that the Holy Spirit led the writer to include this challenge because it is the Point of the Christian life.

He does not save us to only give us salvation, but to give us access to a knowledge of Him and a life of growing to understand more about who He is! Isn’t that an awesome thought? To know that the Lord desires me to desire Him is amazing to me! My sinfulness. His Sacrifice. My failure. His Perfectness. He is everything I’m not yet He wants me to know Him! He has given us such a precious privilege!

This verse made me think of a passage in Ephesians. This is another group of verses that challenges us to embark on a journey of knowing Jesus though we’ll never know all there is to know until we reach Heaven. That we “may be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth and length and depth and height; and to know the love of God which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with all the fulness of God.” (Eph. 3:18-19) A challenge that will take a lifetime of daily seeking and following to accomplish.

Why take time to strive toward something that the Word itself says “passeth knowledge?” Because the glimpses of His glory that we’ll receive are worth more than words can express! The God of Heaven has given us the call to “know” His love, to be sure of it, to understand it. Oh how I desire to know just that! The only way we’ll ever be more like Him, love like Him, and live like Him is to know Him better.

It will be my goal this week and in the weeks to come to make sure that the busyness and craziness of it all doesn’t keep me from “consider(ing)…Christ” my Lord.I want to see His Cross and understand better His love for me. I want to see His forgiveness and be more forgiving of others. I want to see Him as He is! I want to observe Him fully!

Leave a Reply

