Singing of His Sufficient Grace…

19 Oct

I haven’t felt much like singing tonight. With a heavy heart and a grumpy attitude to match, I’ve been mustering through my To-Do list for the last several hours and taking my frustration out on those I love the most 😦 but the Lord loves to snap me out of my selfish pity parties by using His precious Word. As I began to read Spurgeon’s evening devotional, it reminded me that I should still be singing regardless of what’s going on around me or how I’m feeling inside! ( You can read the devotion by clicking here: http://www.spurgeon.org/morn_eve/this_evening.cgi  )

My song should be constant because I sing to One who is ever constant. Though circumstances change, He doesn’t so I should live in that Reality.

Where I am doesn’t impede His ability to work. We don’t work on the same time-table therefore what seems far off to me is really not so far away in His Eyes.  What I’m lacking doesn’t hinder His desire to give and strengthen. He has sheet-musicaccess to limitless provisions with which to provide for me. No matter what His grace is sufficient and that should keep me singing.

Though the midnight hour found Paul and Silas beaten, bleeding, and bound, they were still singing. (Acts 16:25)

Though the Psalmist’s heart was heavy with sorrow as he was bearing the reproach of evil men, we find him singing of his Defender and Strength. (Psalm 59:16-17)

A grief stricken Job spoke of a God who gave songs in night seasons. (Job 35:10) You know those dark times when you wonder if morning will ever come? Job tells us God wants to give us a song.

Paul admonished us to sing, making melody in our hearts to the Lord, and He didn’t put specific conditions upon the command. (Eph. 5:19) He didn’t say “When all is well, sing” he just told us to sing!

Wherever you are tonight, whatever you’re facing, you have a reason to sing, dear one! For you see, He promises ( and He ALWAYS keeps His promises!!! 🙂 ) His children… grace all-sufficient. (2 Cor. 12:9)

 “I will sing unto the LORD as long as I live: I will sing praise to my God while I have my being.”

Psalms 104:33 

Leave a Reply

