Affliction is an Avenue…

15 Oct

Affliction, not a word any of us are too fond of. We shudder at the thought of pain, wince at the idea of having to sacrifice something/someone we love, and feel like running to hide when the news is different from that which we desired to hear.

The Greek word  for affliction means to depress literally or figuratively, to abase self, deal hardly with. Do any of us want to be dealt hardly with? I would say that all of us would opt out of that one!

avenueBut on my heart and mind over the last couple of days has been the thought viewing affliction as an avenue.

And exactly where is this avenue leading?

It is leading us to a place where we will  know our God better, to know what it means to share in the fellowship of His sufferings, to know what it means to hunger and thirst for His Word.

As the sinful, selfish, fleshly human beings that we are it takes an abasing of self to get us to that point. The flesh looks at affliction with frustration and questioning.

Why?

 Haven’t I been through enough?

These are common questions in the face of affliction, but whether the affliction is physical or emotional, He is allowing it for a spiritual purpose.

To truly know Him, we must be afflicted. It seems absurd to desire the affliction, but it’s not that we enjoy the process as much as we will enjoy and benefit from the outcome! Knowing Him is worth it all!

The Psalmist realized the value in affliction, “I know, O LORD, that thy judgments are right, and that thou in faithfulness hast afflicted me.” (Psalms 119:75)

Through our eyes we don’t attribute His allowing of affliction to His faithfulness, but it has everything to do with it! Our Faithful Creator knows what is needful in our lives to make them useful for Him and a lot of times that is affliction. He uses it to call us from dependence upon self to total dependence upon the Savior.

I pray that He will teach me to look at life and it’s affliction with His eyes that I may know that  He is Faithful and He is Good regardless of the circumstances!

 “Unless thy law had been my delights, I should then have perished in mine affliction.” Psalms 119:92 

  “This is my comfort in my affliction: for thy word hath quickened me.” Psalms 119:50

One Response to “Affliction is an Avenue…”

  1. Joe Newsome October 16, 2009 at 6:05 am #

    It’s been a long time since I have left a comment for your posts. I have really enjoyed them all. They have all been a tremendous blessing to me. I love the way God allows you to make spiritual applications to every day events. It shows how much you are seeking God in your life and that is a great blessing to me. This post spoke to my heart as well. We all have ask the question why at one time or another. The real question in the midst of affliction, as you have pointed out, is what do you want to teach me Lord. When we ask that He ends up getting the glory out of our lives and that is what we should desire most.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

