The Glimmer of God at Work in my Life

6 Oct

Today the Lord gave me one of the best studies I’ve had in a while! It was so good to sit down for an extended time in His Word! He had just that, a specific Word for me as he led me to Psalm 45 which then led me to an extended study of Isaiah 54! I couldn’t go to bed tonight without sharing it with you!

“Hearken, O daughter, and consider, and incline thine own ear; forget also thine own people, and thy father’s house; So shall the King greatly desire thy beauty for he is thy Lord; and worship thou him.” Psalm 45:10-11

These verses reminded me that as God’s child, I am a part of His Bride, the Church. He desires that I surrender all that is carnal so that I may enjoy all He has for me spiritually.

My Bible referenced these verses to Isaiah 54:5 so I flipped ahead a few pages to discover a chapter filled with wonderful pictures of my Lord’s love for me, His Bride!

“For thy Maker is thy husband…” states the fifth verse of the fifty-forth chapter! What joy this thought brought to my heart! He has taken that which was barren and made it fruitful. He bought me back from the slavery of sin and has become my Beloved, the Husband of my soul!

When He found me and called me to Himself I was “as a woman forsaken and grieved in spirit, and a wife of youth, when (I) was refused” (54:6) But He didn’t let that stop Him from desiring to redeem me! “With GREAT mercies” He has so lovingly “gather(ed) me!” (54:7) Not just mercy which would’ve been enough, but with GREAT MERCIES! I love God’s Word! 🙂

Along with His “great mercies” came a promise to love me forever (Jer. 31:3) and to be there through the thick and holdinghandsthrough the thin! He promised to hold my hand (Is. 41:13), to never ever leave me (Heb. 13:5) , and to listen every time I call (Prov. 15:29)! I am assured that these promises are MUCH MORE than mere words because He equates it with the promise He made to Noah thousands of years of ago that has yet to be broken! (54:9)

In the midst  of the pain and crushing rejection, I heard His Sweet Voice:

“Oh thou afflicted, tossed with the tempest, and not comforted, behold…” 54:11

He was calling me to look at Him, to find a Friend in my affliction, a Calm in my storm, and a Comfort in the pain. He was calling me to surrender it all, all of my mess, all of my brokenness, all of my pieces for His beauty, His healing, and His peace.

He spoke further, promising more still:

“I will lay thy stones with fair colors, and lay thy foundations with sapphires: And I will make thy windows of agates, and thy gates of carbuncles, and all thy borders pleasant stones.” (54:11-12)

He has made my life so beautiful! When I think of how little I knew Him 4 years ago, I am amazed at the difference He has made! Life has a sparkle, a glimmer to it that it never had before! He tenderly gathered me from the dirt He found me in though my jewel was tarnished and scratched. He then gently smoothed away the filth and grime that had made its home in my heart. Now life has His Touch and His Polish upon it.

And now that He has brought me to this place, I want to be ever mindful of where He found me so as to not slip back into a life of settling for less than His best! I don’t want to love anything more than I do my Precious Savior!  May I realize that the grime and dirt doesn’t have to come from a worldly lifestyle, but that it can just as easily begin to coat my jewel when I neglect to keep my eyes upon Him and keep myself in His Word to receive my daily polishing! The scratches and damage can appear upon a heart that is ‘going through the motions’ (doing the right things with the wrong heart behind it), a heart that is missing out of knowing Jesus in the sweet and intimate way that He desires us to.

I long to reflect my Savior and to be found serving faithfully when He returns to “make up (His) jewels!” (Mal. 3:17) I am enjoying the glimmer and shine of God at work in my life! May He continue to make something usable out of this earthen vessel!

Leave a Reply

