Resolved

7 Sep

The final weekend of Summer 2009 was a wonderful one! Lots of time with the ones I love the most enjoying  the beautiful weather the Lord has blessed us with recently! Today was bittersweet! I am sad to see this summer come to a close! God has been so real over the last few months and it will forever be one of the most special summers of my life! Yet I am at the same time excited about what a new school year with new students and new ministry opportunities will bring! I know He has good things in store!

Yesterday was another great Lord’s Day and this hymn was one of the first hymns we sang in our morning service! It has been on my heart since then, and I wanted to share it with you!

I am resolved no longer to linger,
Charmed by the world’s delight,
Things that are higher, things that are nobler,
These have allured my sight.

Refrain

I will hasten to Him, hasten so glad and free;
Jesus, greatest, highest, I will come to Thee.
I will hasten, hasten to Him, hasten so glad and free;
Jesus, Jesus, greatest, highest, I will come to Thee.

I am resolved to go to the Savior,
Leaving my sin and strife;
He is the true One, He is the just One,
He hath the words of life.

Refrain

I am resolved to follow the Savior,
Faithful and true each day;
Heed what He sayeth, do what He willeth,
He is the living Way.

Refrain

I am resolved to enter the kingdom
Leaving the paths of sin;
Friends may oppose me, foes may beset me,
Still will I enter in.

Refrain

I am resolved, and who will go with me?
Come, friends, without delay,
Taught by the Bible, led by the Spirit,
We’ll walk the heav’nly way.

Refrain

Oh that I would be more resolved to follow my Savior regardless of where He leads!

The world and sometimes even other Christians call us to lower the standards set forth by His Word but His strength and grace provide what we need to follow Him with resolve and determination! He has things that are so much higher, so much more noble, levels above the mediocre living we settle for! He desires something beautiful for us while we so often settle for bearable. Oh how we would benefit from a daily resolution to follow Him “faithful and true each day!”

May09-July09Vacation 160All too often in my life my walk with Him is strong for seasons only to weaken in others. It needs to be consistent and concrete! Despite circumstances and change, our walks with our Heavenly Father should remain. As we journey, there will be times when the pathway is rough, it is then when we will wish that we had a strong and resolved walk with our Lord. We need not wait for troubled times to seek Him! I should be ever in communion with He who hath “the words of life” if I am to truly live!

As I prepare for the first day of school tomorrow I do so with a resolution to follow my Savior on a daily basis! I’m praying that He will strengthen your resolve as well!

He followed through for us when He took a beating He didn’t deserve. He followed through for us when He carried the heavy cross up Golgotha’s hill, allowing the soldiers to nail His sinless hands and feet to it’s splintered wood. He followed through for us when He cried “Father, forgive them for they know not what they do!” Oh that we will follow through for Him!

Leave a Reply

