An Autumn Day in August…

31 Aug

AutumnWhen I left the house this morning at 10 o’clock, there was a slight chill in the air! I was amazed at how autumn-like it felt! Surprisingly the chill remained throughout the day, and I almost needed a jacket tonight! I can’t believe how quickly this summer has passed! Today was the last day of my summer vacation, and I spent it in my classroom trying to get a head start on the year to come!

As I look back on the last 2 and half months, I remember that my desire was to spend it seeking and serving. It was a wonderful summer filled with many awesome serving opportunities and time spent seeking my Savior through His Word. I’m so thankful for what the Lord has allowed me to be a part of this summer! Thinking back to last summer, it’s amazing to me how the Lord has worked! He has changed so much, led me to the right places at the right times. Closed many doors and opened many others! It is undeniably His doing, and I daily stand in awe of my Loving Lord and His perfectness!

Yesterday was an incredible Lord’s day filled with awesome messages and applicable Truth! The morning message found it’s text in Nehemiah, and I was challenged by this account in a new way. It has always been a book dear to my heart with many spiritual parallels to my life but yesterday the Lord used it in a new way!

I learned that Nehemiah probably prayed for 4 months (from the month (1:1) to the month Nisan (2:1)) before approaching the king for permission to be sent to Jerusalem. When he did approach the king, the response he received was proof that God was in the midst of his mission! Not only did he receive permission but He also received provision!!! The king gave him materials with which to rebuild the wall that was in such desperate need of repair! Nehemiah knew it wasn’t just coincidence. These were his words: “And the kind granted me, according to the good hand of my God upon me!” 2:8

Surely I can say with Nehemiah that where I am today is ONLY because of  “the good hand of my God upon me!” I now see His fingerprints upon every twist and turn of the past 4 years, and I praise Him for His provision!

Then in the afternoon service, my Dad preached a message that tied in so well with the morning message! He reminded us to look for the Lord throughout the journey and not just at the end when we can see Him clearly. We miss the entire blessing when we wait until the trial is over and the sun is shining to look for Him. As the men on Emmaus Road almost missed Jesus, we too neglect to see His working in our lives.

There have certainly been many days along the way in which my eyes have been holden (Luke 24:16) and I’ve missed the joy that Jesus brings to the journey. At times I have struggled to see His working and been impatient in the waiting. Othertimes I have trusted Him and delighted in the days of stillness knowing He was so lovingly writing something beautiful behind the scenes! Regardless of my viewpoint, I have found one thing consistent, the faithfulness of my God!

Now in the summer of 2009, I see it clearly, the Lord’s hand at work, today and everyday prior. I praise Him for His goodness and for His good hand upon me! 🙂

Praying that you can see His hand at work in your life regardless of where you are along this journey on this autumn day in August!

Leave a Reply

