A multitude of thoughts

29 Aug

cup_of_coffee “In the multitude of my thoughts within me thy comforts delight my soul.” Psalms 94:19 

I came upon this verse a few days ago during my study time and it fit my current season so well! There is so much to be done and often times my mind is filled with “a multitude of thoughts!” But when I take time to “be still” (Psalm 46:10) and search the Scripture, I find the comfort I need to silent the anxiousness in my mind and heart!

This is when Scripture memorization becomes a wonderful tool to keep our minds in perfect peace when the busyness of it all seems overwhelming! Scripture gives us the right perspective on life regardless of what our busy day may entail. I desire to strive to memorize more of the Bible in order to keep the right outlook and have the right attitude  about life!

When I awake each morning and know I am about to begin another busy day, it is all too easy to skip over my study time to get a “head start” on the lengthy to-d0 list awaiting me. And though I may get a “head start” in regards to time, I set out to face the multiple challenges and tasks of the day without the help and strength of my Lord. After forsaking my quiet time, I find myself with the wrong attitude (and I haven’t even eaten breakfast yet!) and the rest of the day often follows suit!

We get the most out of our days when we start them with the Savior! As I have said before the only way we can effectively serve is by seeking Him first! It may seem like we’re saving time, but we are in reality wasting the precious time He’s given! Skipping out on time with Him, we often become overwhelmed with a “multitude of thoughts” and cannot be the blessing He desires us to be!

It is imperative that I find my comforts in the pages of His Word before the thoughts and pressures of it all become overwhelming!

This verse is a great reminder of where or rather in Whom true peace is found:

“Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.” Isaiah 26:3

Before your morning coffee, before it’s lunch time already, be sure you’ve had your time with the Lord! It is surely time well spent! 🙂

One Response to “A multitude of thoughts”

  1. Joe Newsome August 30, 2009 at 9:50 pm #

    I haven’t left you a comment in a while, but all of your posts have truly been a blessing to me. They have been a great help to me. We heard a message from a missionary a couple weeks ago that he entitled Daily. He preached on how we need to seek God on a daily basis for our daily needs because we really live our lives one day at a time. He used several examples from the Bible, (His mercies are new every morning, manna every day). If we skip a day of seeking the Lord, we will miss His blessings on that day. I know too well from experience that once we have missed it, we can’t make it up. Thank you for your posts and your life that you live for the Lord.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

