Solid

25 Aug

I have been blessed with all things solid. A solid family, a solid upbringing in a solid church, a solid place of employment that is much more than a job, a solid relationship with my loving Lord. The certainty of  food on the table, clothes on my back, and shoes on my feet never being questioned. Life upon a solid foundation makes for a very joyful life indeed. But then life happens and threatens the stability of all that I once thought solid.

It’s when the solidity of these things is shaken that I am reminded of the only place that will be forever solid. Only upon the Solid Rock Himself, my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ can I safely and firmly stand when the violent winds blow and the heavy rains of life begin to fall.

I am standing upon His Promises tonight as we received the news that the place that has provided financial security and stability for our family for years will be no longer as of October 2nd. My Dad has so faithfully worked and provided for our family there day after day, week after week for nearly 22 years. (I’m not sure he has EVER taken a sick day though I’m certain there were days when he was sick and should have!) Solid employment in a Christian-owned and run workplace has always been something solid for our family and yet now it is no longer solid.

No longer solid, but we are not shaken. Saddened but not shaken because our foundation has not changed, swayed, or buckled. I admit that tears flowed when my parents shared the news with me, but they were tears of sadness because our life has always included this place and it’s hard to imagine life without it not because I was fearful or frightened of an uncertain future. If there is anything that the Lord has taught me in the last 10 months, it’s that He often uses unpleasant circumstances and painful changes to bring His children to the exact places of blessings He has prepared for them. 

puzzle1Though we can’t see what awaits, He can, and He has promised to be faithful! (1 Cor. 1:9)  What we see as the end, He sees as the beginning of the new thing He desires to bring forth! Knowing this doesn’t take the pain away, but it does give the pain purpose. It assures us that though we can only see this piece that doesn’t seem to fit, He sees the completed puzzle. It reminds us that though there may be times when we seem stuck in the frightening climaxes of our life stories, He has a happily ever after prepared for those that love Him!

I am thankful for a solid place to stand when that which was once solid cracks and crumbles. The words of this hymn have been on my heart:

 

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ Name.

On Christ the solid Rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

When darkness hides His lovely face,
I rest on His unchanging grace.
In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.

His oath, His covenant, His blood,
Support me in the whelming flood.
When all around my soul gives way,
He then is all my Hope and Stay.

 Truly He is all my Hope and Stay regardless of changes and circumstances! I praise Him for being Solid! 🙂

“He is like a man which built an house, and digged deep, and laid the foundation on a rock: and when the flood arose, the stream beat vehemently upon that house, and could not shake it: for it was founded upon a rock.” Luke 6:48 

Leave a Reply

