His Disciple

24 Aug

As I was driving today, thinking about the many things that fill my mind these days (the end of summer, the school year to come, the incredible blessings the Lord has bestowed upon me in giving me the desires of my heart, etc. etc.), I began thinking about this thought.

I am His Disciple. Just like Matthew, Mark, Luke and John. I have chosen to take up my cross and follow Him. I am still human, sinful, and fleshly but He desires that I follow Him. The God of Heaven desires fellowship with me and that is amazing to me!

I have often thought about the fact that Jesus could have chosen any 12 men to be most closely associated with Him during His earthly ministry, but yet He chose common men from the seashores of Galilee and from the center of town as they went about their normal tasks. He could have picked the wealthy and affluent yet He choose the humble and very human men we now sing about as children in Sunday School. I think He choose them because it was through their weakness that He could get the most glory. (1 Corinthians 1:25-29)

Matthew, the tax-collector. Luke, the physician. John, the beloved disciple. Peter, the fishermen. Common men with common professions until Jesus came along. When He came, their lives were changed. Changed because they no longer belonged to themselves but now to the man from Galilee who called them to leave their nets, their families, and their rights to self to follow Him. These men certainly had no idea that their Lord would use them to preach to thousands on the day of Pentecost and to pen much of the New Testament! I am sure that the day they forsook all to follow Him they knew not that they would ultimately give up their lives in the physical sense for standing for the Gospel’s sake.

It blesses my heart to know that an extraordinary God delights in ordinary people enough to use them in His service! I am His disciple despite my flaws and failures. I am His disciple though unworthy and incapable on my own. Just like John, I enjoy time of sweet fellowship with my Lord while leaning upon His bosom. (John 13:23) But just like Peter, I deny my Lord in my choices to stay silent when I should speak about Him. (Matthew 14:66-72) Like Paul I desire to know Him yet realize that each time I desire to do good an inward struggle ensues. (Romans 7:18-19) There is nothing special about me, but I have been given the precious privilege of being one of His disciples. Just like the fisherman, tax-collectors and tent-makers, I am just a child of God saved to serve my Savior despite shortcomings and stumblings.

I was also encouraged by the Greek meaning of the word disciple. It simply means a learner. I have MUCH to learn about my Lord, His Word, and His ways! I am so thankful that He’s patient enough to teach me in spite of myself! 🙂

 footprintsI am His disciple, and I desire to follow and love my Lord! Praying you are following and loving Him today in the way that He so desperately desire you to!

 “Because the foolishness of God is wiser than men; and the weakness of God is stronger than men. For ye see your calling, brethren, how that not many wise men after the flesh, not many mighty, not many noble, are called: But God hath chosen the foolish things of the world to confound the wise; and God hath chosen the weak things of the world to confound the things which are mighty; And base things of the world, and things which are despised, hath God chosen, yea, and things which are not, to bring to nought things that are: That no flesh should glory in his presence.” 1 Corinthians 1:25-29

“For even hereunto were ye called: because Christ also suffered for us, leaving us an example, that ye should follow his steps:”  1 Peter 2:21 

Leave a Reply

