Rejoicing in a Promise Kept

21 Aug

I am indeed rejoicing this morning because the promise given in Psalm 126:6 has been kept!

“He that goeth forth and weepeth, bearing precious seed, shall doubtless come again with rejoicing, bringing his sheaves with him.”

The Lord is so good! He surely gave the increase this week, showing Himself strong in my life and in the lives of many others through every service and every message, but especially on Wednesday and Thursday nights!

On Wednesday night, I was blessed to see God answer a specific prayer I’ve been praying  in a very specific way! A burden I’ve been carrying for the last several months was lifted and it brought tears of joy to my eyes and a smile to my face! Words cannot not express how excited I am about what God has in store for my future and for the future of my church!

And as if that was not enough, God showed up again last night blessing me with the precious privilege of leading someone to Christ.  As I sat with her, trying my best to answer her questions and show her clearly how she could be certain she was saved, I prayed silently for the right words and for her understanding. She struggled with it because it seemed almost too easy that something as huge as our entrance into Heaven could be gained by praying a simple prayer. I agreed that it does seem simple but that in reality it’s not the prayer that we pray but Christ’s work at Calvary 2,000 years ago that assures us of salvation through something as simple as believing in your heart and confessing with your mouth! After I finished explaining it the best that I could, she said she would like to pray. She rehearsed to me the things needed for salvation, (“That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved.” Romans 10:9) and then bowed her head in silent prayer. I prayed silently for her understanding and for the Lord to bind Satan from causing her to doubt. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to forget the look of relief and joy on her face when she concluded her prayer for as long as I live. I pray that I don’t. With tears welling up in her eyes, she told how much better she felt! I believe that I saw Psalm 126:6 in a real life way last night and WOW what rejoicing it brought to my soul!

God’s Word is NOT just another book to be read, but rather a life to be lived, promises to be claimed, and results to be rejoiced in! Our God has a way of taking the black words off of the white paper and bringing them to LIFE.

Yesterday morning before I left for VBS, the Lord brought this verse into my devotions:

“And I will strengthen them in the Lord…”  Zech. 10:12

seedlingI now know for a fact that nothing strengthens the Christian more than having a part in the salvation of another! The seed that has been sown this summer is growing! We are bringing our sheaves with us, and my heart is thrilled with my Lord this morning as I am rejoicing in a promise kept! 🙂 

 

The LORD hath done great things for us; whereof we are glad.”

Psalm 126:3

One Response to “Rejoicing in a Promise Kept”

  1. Staci August 25, 2009 at 11:52 am #

    It was an awesome night. I too was so happy to see Laura saved. As I struggled to explain to her how to be saved, I have never led anyone to christ before, so when you came by it was a true blessing. I am so thankful God brought laura into Cheryol’s life, I am going to talk to her mom about coming to church too. Laura told Cheryol that after she was saved she felt like something left her body, she had a feeling of relief and calmness, I was so excited for her. Thank you for being such a blessing in our family’s lives. I thank God for your family. Your singing just blesses my heart every time.

Leave a Reply

