Prayer

19 Aug

This has been a reoccurring theme throughout many of the messages preached so far this week. What conviction and challenge this has brought to my heart. Over the last 4 years, I have spent much time in prayer. In a season of waiting and seeking Him for His plan, prayer come easier than it does at other points in our lives. But then when those years of praying bring answers and a new season begins, it is all too easy to neglect the prayer life that once sustained you.

 Four years ago, I began to journal my prayers as I way to be more faithful in my praying and also as a way to go back and review all that the Lord was doing. I love to read through the prayers from months and years ago to remind myself of the awesome ways God has answered my requests. As I flip through the countless spiral notebooks that blankpagerecord the work the Lord has done in my life since August 2005, there are hundreds of prayers written on the pages. However, as my life has taken a new direction and I have been blessed with so many desires of my heart lately, the pages of my notebook show that I have slacked in my praying.

When life is easy, we don’t recognize our need for continual prayer as much as we do when our hearts are experiencing the heaviness of the valley. I have found that to be true in my life lately. Unfortunately the good times and good things He has so graciously given sometimes get in the way of truly seeking Him.

Oh that the daily living and enjoying of answered prayers wouldn’t keep me from praying but be all the more reason to pray without ceasing! He has so faithfully answered so I should continually pray faithfully and fervently. Productive Christian living is ABSOLUTELY DEPENDENT upon PRAYER! We cannot be Christ-like without seeking Christ!

This verse on prayer is on my heart this morning…

“…The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.”

James 5:16

This verse makes it clear that our prayer must be a certain type of prayer if it is to avail much! I learned that the word fervent comes from the Greek word energeo meaning to BE ACTIVE, BE MIGHTY IN, SHOW FORTH THYSELF, WORK. Effectual prayer is work! It is against our nature to consult another in our own matters. We love thinking we have it all under control, but the truth is we belong to Him so He should be in complete control. It is through prayer alone that the crucial yielding to Him and ceasing from sin can take place.

Oh that I would be active and mighty in prayer both on the bad days when I realize how needy I am and on the good days when I don’t feel as needy (but am in reality more needy than ever!)! May He show forth a ceasing of self (1 Peter 4:1) and increase of His Spirit through the work of prayer in my life.

I also wanted to thank for your prayers this week! Our Vacation Bible School has been blessed with many children and many opportunities to share the Gospel! As I already previously mentioned, our Tent Meeting has provided much needed challenge from God’s Word! Please continue to pray as the week continues! 🙂

One Response to “Prayer”

  1. Staci August 19, 2009 at 12:42 pm #

    You are so right. I have been so convicted this week thus far. I am so thankful for the prayer meetings this past week. I too need to pray more without ceasing. when he has blessed me with so much and answered so many prayers, I need to be down on my knees praising him daily,not just when I am in need, but always. Thank you for you wonderful message. It touches my heart somuch.

    see you tonight love ya , staci

Leave a Reply

