Confidence

8 Aug

The devil can (and does!) use any number of hindrances to deter us in our walks with the Lord, but in my life He often chooses the area of confidence (or lack thereof!). It is easy for him to get me thinking that I’m not doing much in my little corner of the world and thus keep me from doing much of anything at all!  He loves to completely overwhelm me with the enormity of the Work that needs to be done and how unqualified I am to attempt to contribute to it. So instead of steadily running towards the Goal, I am stuck on the sidelines feeling inadequate and incapable! 

And guess what?

He’s right!

I am completely and utterly unqualified and incapable…in myself! That is why I must find confidence in One who is supremely capable and qualified…my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ!

I cannot accomplish anything alone, but in Him, Philippians 4:13 tells me I can do ALL things! I can get passed the fear and anxiety that comes each time I hand someone a tract. I can stand before crowds of people and testify to all the good things He’s doing in my life. Not because I am confident in myself, but because He is my confidence! (Prov. 3:26)

Yes the devil’s accusation is partly true, I will fail, but who he neglects to mention is the One that I have on my side, strengthening my hands and heart to diligently and faithfully complete the task! I praise Him that for every accusation seedling2the devil makes He always has an Answer! 🙂 Satan ‘forgets’ to bring up the fact that even though I may be doing the planting or watering, I have no control or part in the increase! It’s the very God of Heaven that is responsible for that (1 Cor. 3:7) and I am pretty confident that He can successfully accomplish that which He sets out to do (Isaiah 55:11)! We are challenged in Galatians 6:9, “And let us not be weary in well doing: for in due season we shall reap, if we faint not.” He doesn’t ask us to make the seed grow, He only asks us to be faithful enough and to have enough faith in Him to plant and water it!

When I write (or post!), it is not my words that have the power to encourage, challenge or help anyone, but they are His Words, words of life (John 6:63)! When I hand someone a Gospel tract, it is not my way I am asking them to accept, but His! I can be confident in Him!

The dictionary defines confidence as full trust. The Hebrew word for confidence means to hie for refuge! We can fully trust our Lord to enable us though we are unable, to come through despite our failing Him, and to bless the work we do for Him in His time and in His way! Surely we can hie to Him for refuge! Refuge from the devils attempts to discourage and hinder us. Refuge from self and sin!

So if you are feeling down or discouraged today, I pray you too can find your confidence not in self as the world so often attempts to boost their self image or strengthen their self esteem, but in Him, the only One who is worthy of trusting in!

“It is better to trust in the Lord than to put confidence in man!”

Psalm 118:8

One Response to “Confidence”

  1. Joe Newsome August 9, 2009 at 6:53 am #

    What a great post. Only when we realize and acknowledge our weaknesses can we get the help that we need. If we think we can do things on our own, we won’t seek the real power we need and we will fail. But when we see how truly weak we are in our selves, we will seek His strentgh and be able to do whatever He has called us to do. Thanks for the reminder to not trust in myself.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

