Remember

1 Aug

reading-bible-blueI concluded Thursday’s post with several verses from Deuteronomy chapter 8. I love the parallels this passage holds for my life over the last 4 years! Truly, He has blessed me with the benefits of a good land (vs.10)! I continued my study in Deuteronomy chapter 8 today and was challenged to continually remember the Giver of all good things!

“Beware that thou forget not the LORD thy God, in not keeping his commandments, and his judgments, and his statutes, which I command thee this day: Lest when thou hast eaten and art full, and hast built goodly houses, and dwelt therein; And when thy herds and thy flocks multiply, and thy silver and thy gold is multiplied, and all that thou hast is multiplied; Then thine heart be lifted up, and thou forget the LORD thy God, which brought thee forth out of the land of Egypt, from the house of bondage;”  

Deuteronomy 8:11-14 

When we are on the mountaintops of life, it’s sometimes easy to “forget…the Lord!” (v14)  With increased blessing comes the increased potential of becoming boastful in self, forgetting that in reality we had nothing to do with the good things we are enjoying! I love God’s Word because I believe it contains applicable warnings as to potentially dangerous spiritual situations! He warned us about it because He knew we would struggle with it!

As we walk through the valley experiences of life, we are painfully aware of our need of the Lord. It’s natural for a child to run to his Father for help when they’re hurting! However, when we’re having a good day, a mountaintop day, we are less likely to see ourselves as needy people in desperate need of the Lord’s aid! We face the danger of thinking we can handle it on our own!

Regardless of the circumstance, whether it be a joyful one or a painful one, we must remember Who is sustaining us. We are utterly helpless apart from Him! The good things of the good land would cease to be good if they weren’t coming from the Lord Himself! He knew how easily we would slip into self-dependence so He gave us this word of caution:

  “Wherefore let him that thinketh he standeth take heed lest he fall.”

1 Corinthians 10:12

We sometimes think ourselves as being strong and spiritually mature when in reality we are weak and far from truly understanding  just how needy we are! I think of Peter and how strong he believed he was as he promised Jesus that he would follow Him to the ends of the earth only to fail just hours later! (Matthew 26:31-35,69-75)

May I realize that if I have anything good, it came from my Heavenly Father to whom I so desperately need to continually resort! He allowed the valley to “humble (me), and to prove (me), to know what was in (my) heart…” (vs.2) May I not so easily forget the valuable lessons He taught me in the tough times! I need Him as much on the mountaintop as I did in the valley! May I never think for one second that I had any part in the successes or blessings! May this verse ever be a reminder of my gracious God from Whom ALL blessings truly flow!

“But thou shalt REMEMBER the LORD thy God: for it is he that giveth thee power to get wealth, that he may establish his covenant which he sware unto thy fathers, as it is this day.”

Deuteronomy 8:18 

One Response to “Remember”

  1. Joe Newsome August 2, 2009 at 5:40 am #

    I believe we face a few of the valleys in our life because of our forgetfulness. I know life is going to have peaks and valleys, but we would have a few less valleys if we took heed to what God has said and remembered Him when we are on the mountain. Thanks for this post. You are such a tremendous blessing to me.

    Love you
    Uncle Joe

Leave a Reply

