Reality

22 Jul

It’s been a great couple of days! The Lord blessed us with a safe trip down on Saturday and two great services on Sunday! It was such a blessing to enjoy fellowship with friends we hadn’t seen in awhile! The best part was to see people respond to the messages. I believe God’s people were stirred and challenged  to pursue closer walks with Him! 🙂

May09-July09Vacation 403We arrived in Pigeon Forge on Monday around 3:00 and have had a wonderful time thus far! The busyness of it all have kept me from posting since Friday! I can’t believe it’s Wednesday already! Not being able to post as often as I would like to, I have realized how much I love being able to share God’s Word in this way!

Over the last couple of days, I’ve been pondering the following thought. Why do we do what we do? Why do we travel 500 miles to sing? Why do I seek to lose my life for the sake of finding it? (Matt. 10:39) Why do I choose to live how I live? The answer to all of these questions is simple… because I love Him.

Recently, we began singing a song entitled “If You Knew Him.” The song examines the difference between other religions and our Reality. We live how we live because we know that it’s more than Religion, more than black words on white paper. We live it because it’s life that Someone died to give us! We live it because it’s REAL to us, His love has been shed abroad in our hearts (Romans 5:5), His death has given us abundant life here (John 10:10) and never- ending life in Eternity (John 3:16).

These verses in Psalms paint a starkly different picture of the gods of those religions that are sadly just that, religion:

“The idols of the heathen are silver and gold, the work of mens hands.

They have mouths, but they speak not; eyes have they, but they see not;

They have ears, but they hear not; neither is there any breath in their mouths.” Psalm 135:15-17

Does that sound like someone you would want to serve? I am in awe at the difference between my God and the other gods of this world.

While statues of gold and silver are the works of mens hands, we were created by the Creator himself!

While their mouths speak not, my God is Truth (Deu. 32:4) and cannot lie (Titus 1:2)!While their eyes cannot see, my God sees all (Proverbs 15:3)!!

Their ears cannot hear the cries of seeking people, but my God’s ears are ever open unto my cries (Psalm 34:15)! Their gods are dead, having no breath in their mouths. Yet it was our God that breathed into Adam that he might become a living soul (Gen. 2:7)!

An empty tomb provided us with a life that is far from empty! We are serving a LIVING God today!!! 🙂 That is why we do what we do!

 

One Response to “Reality”

  1. Ashley July 23, 2009 at 1:59 pm #

    It was a great service on Sunday! It was so good to see you and your family. Have a safe trip. You’re in my thoughts and prayers!

Leave a Reply

