Late Nights with my Lord

16 Jul

It’s happening again… I’m posting on yet another topic not related to my fruit of the Spirit study! I guess it’s ok considering this is my blog and I’m free to post whatever I so desire, but I think I’ve learned that I’m terrible at sticking with a series! It has taken me a month to get through 9 (I counted correctly this time! 🙂 ) fruits of the Spirit! There is only 1 more to go though, and I promise to conclude the study soon!

Anyway, on to the real reason I was posting…

If you look for me after 11 pm (not that you would be since most of you are probably sleeping!), more often than not you can find me at my computer with my Bible and notebook open on my lap. The house is quiet. The busyness of the day has passed. The sweetness of my Lord’s Presence and working in my life is real. Oh, what a Savior is mine! 🙂 I am loving these late nights with my Lord.

But usually whatever I am blogging about in the wee hours of the night has been on my heart since my study time that morning. This morning I was strengthened by Proverbs chapter 3 as a whole, but these 6 verses particularly.

night-sky-in-cape-bretonMy son, let not them depart from thine eyes: keep sound wisdom and discretion:

 So shall they be life unto thy soul, and grace to thy neck.

 Then shalt thou walk in thy way safely, and thy foot shall not stumble.

 When thou liest down, thou shalt not be afraid: yea, thou shalt lie down, and thy sleep shall be sweet.

 Be not afraid of sudden fear, neither of the desolation of the wicked, when it cometh.

 For the LORD shall be thy confidence, and shall keep thy foot from being taken.

Proverbs 3:21-26

I have been delighting in these words all day! I am so thankful for the Promises of His Word that are promises kept!

These verses tell me that if I am seeking and studying His Word that I “will walk in (my) way safely, and (my) foot shall not stumble!” This verse isn’t promising a life without problems or failures, but it is promising that my steps will be guided and protected by my Savior. His Light will illuminate the path in front of me, casting out every fear and worry that would otherwise be present. Physical darkness is scary, but spiritual darkness can be paralyzing. My Lord desires me to allow His Word to be my lamp so that I don’t have to walk in the darkness of uncertainty. This passage assures me that my “sleep shall be sweet!” And sweet it is because I know He that spoke my world into existence and formed me from dust is holding my life in His hands!

I can be confident in my Lord and in His ability to “keep my foot from being taken” regardless of what’s to come in the morning!

 

“Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.”

Psalm 119:105

Leave a Reply

